We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Its best..Will be back”
Review of Wineport Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wineport Lodge
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Back to Its best..Will be back”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My partner and I have visited the Wineport on several occasions now and love it, We visited for yet another stay just before Christmas following a slightly disappointing visit in the Summer and happily, I can say that the last visit was just a blip - our recent visit was fabulous in every way! The service throughout our stay was fantastic and very attentive. We were upgraded to a suite and one in which we had stayed before - Provence - and it is absolutely beautiful. The place was beautifully decorated for Christmas and very cosy and inviting. Dinner was beautiful - to start, I had the smoked haddock and leek crostini and my partner had duck spring rolls, for mains, I had the braised shoulder of lamb and my partner had monkfish and prawns and all were excellent - we could not manage a dessert! The Wineport is a very special place - it offers fantastic food and attentive service in the most stunning setting - we will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkW413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    165
    92
    34
    9
See reviews for
120
697
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights last October, and had a really relaxing and romantic break. From the beautiful lakeside setting, our room with the balcony looking onto the lake to the rooftop sauna, it's hard not to relax at the wineport.

We had bought a voucher for our stay on pigsback.com and found it to be really good value. Found the staff to be both friendly and helpful. The only fault I could find is that although the food was lovely, did think it was a bit overpriced, but the local village of glasson has some lovely pubs and restaurants.

Would definitely recommend this for couples who just want to get away and relax, it's got some really nice touches like the option of breakfast in bed at no extra charge, and its hard to beat being in the rooftop sauna in the evening with the stars overhead.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diarmuid79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Diarmuid79.

Many thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to hear that you had a really relaxing and romantic break here at Wineport Lodge.

We look forward to seeing you at some stage in the future.

Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just back from a 2 night break with my girlfriend at Wineport Lodge. It's only around one hour a 20 minutes from Dublin. The weather was absolutely appalling on approach to the hotel which is fairly isolated. However, it's isolation makes it all the better! it is located on a beautiful lake and it appears that all of the rooms have a beautiful view, eventhough there was a storm howling outside, the hotel itself was incredibly comfortable. On arrival we were led to our room 'Margaux', all of the rooms are named after different wines, it was very spacious with tv, dvd player, large king size bed, balcony (which we could not use on account of the weather!), mini bar, spacious bathroom etc. We essentially stayed in the room for the 2 day break and ordered room service quite regularly. I can recommend the burger (without dill pickles though). We enjoyed afternoon tea on one of the days. The breakfasts were fine, I was not bowled over by the full irish breakfast on the first morning, it was ok, but just that, small portions and the porridge was a little watery. For me however these were minor things as the hotel was very comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Both myself and my girlfriend enjoyed a treatment which was wonderful and over all it was a lovely break away. As I said earlier the breakfast was fine but it could have been a little better, but this is a minor quibble and we had a fantastic time. i would definitely recommend Wineport to anyone and we will undoubtedly be back in the coming months.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room 'Margaux', on passing some of the other rooms when opened for cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear billaustin.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all of your feedback and your comments regarding breakfast will be taken on board.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and that you found that the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. I have passed your kind comments on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There last year for family meal / celebration. Overall very good. Food high quality. At pre-dinner drinks, waitress too informal. Another waitress was pushing wine too strongly during meal. But very nice location, rooms etc.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank taistealai99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear taistealai99.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you found the food to be of high quality and enjoyed your experience.

We appreciate your comments in relation to service and they will be taken on board.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in early January. The room was spacious and luxurious, decor modern, enormous bathroom and a walk in closet. The food and service were excellent, both the wedding meal and breakfast the following morning were superb.

We hope to return again so we can truly enjoy the room and hotel. One minor gripe: the motion sensor light for the walk in closet - very annoying when going to the bathroom in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear AK_Dublin.

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 days in wineport lodge courtesy of a blue book voucher.
We highly recommend it as a venue
It's quiet getaway with gorgeous view of lough ree. We had a lovely room and food and service was excellent.
There are lovely fires lighting throughout the reception and bar/lounge which was really nice.
Cocktails in bar are really good too!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jk3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear jk3278.

Many thanks for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your lovely comments regarding your accommodation, the food & the service on to the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Wineport Lodge in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to escape to only a few hours from Dublin that will make you feel like you are in paradise then this is the place. Somehow the design of the rooms makes you feel as if you are looking out onto tropical water even on a cold miserable winters day. The quality and comfort of the room and the room service is all you need to know about if you are looking for a romantic break and it's first class

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliviaanne, General Manager at Wineport Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Chrisdflack.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that the quality and comfort of the room and the room service, to be of a high standard.

We hope to welcome you back to Wineport Lodge in the future for another romantic break.

Best Regards,
Norma Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
5.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wineport Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wineport Lodge

Property: Wineport Lodge
Address: Lakeshore Road | Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#6 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wineport Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll feel the difference the moment you arrive. More than a hotel, this is a luxury lodge with a unique sense of warmth and comfort at every turn. Nestled on the banks of Lough Ree, in an idyllic setting surrounded by native woodland, Wineport Lodge is exceptional in both style and service. With hosts who instinctively ensure your every need is met, here luxury and comfort comes wrapped in easy humour and effortless hospitality. Blissfully located in the beautiful countryside of Athlone, Wineport Lodge enjoys an incomparable setting on the edge of Ireland's peaceful inland waterways. Its cedar clad, log-cabin-style exterior is matched with a tasteful, modern interior that reflects the warm and relaxed atmosphere across the lodge and its lakeside grounds. Famously delicious food is matched by genuinely friendly and expert service. An always interesting Menu changes seasonally with the most flavoursome local produce regularly appearing as a daily special. Rustic in style, unpretentious and always generous on the plate... At Wineport Lodge you're in for a dining treat. Each menu is accompanied by an electric, carefully selected wine list. Glasson Golf Club is just a short boat trip away, and a stroll around the lake begins outside our front door. Wineport Lodge was designed to be in tune with our stunning natural surroundings. It's all about having the maximum comfort with the minimum environmental impact. That's why you won't find a sprawling spa with pool here. What you will find though is nothing short of perfect. Two intimate treatment suites are just waiting for you with a range of VOYA treatments and therapies guaranteed to help you relax, rejuvenate and renew. Wineport Lodge - Voted Best Boutique Hotel in Ireland 2013 by The National Hospitality Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Wineport Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wineport Hotel Athlone
Wineport Athlone
Wineport Lodge Athlone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing