We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”
Review of Alverna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alverna House B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our family of 6 ( with 4 children aged from 7-14 years) spent a very pleasant night at Alverna House with Niamh and Ronan. We were made to feel very welcome and the children have said that the breakfast was the best of all the B&B's that we have visited while in Ireland. The house is very modern, clean and comfortable. Our whole family highly recommends this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi again! Delighted you and your lovely kids had a good time here. I hope Kinvara was good and that ye got some nice weather. Thanks for taking the time to leave a fab review and wishing you all a safe journey back home. Regards Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great overnight stay in this very clean and welcoming B&B, the owner even gave us a lift into town so we wouldn't have to get a taxi. Tasty fry up in the morning too. Would definitely stay again.
David and Roisin

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavDob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi David & Róisín, thanks for the lovely review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you got to go surfing the next day! All the best. Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have a surprising time at this B&B. We have just stayed for 1 night but we loved it! Niamh was very welcoming on arrival. We stayed in a superb room, a very spacious one and with a very comfortable bed at first floor! The cleanness of the house is incredible! Lovely breakfast! The house is very I highly recommend this house for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana Lucia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Anna Lúcia & Cássio. We're glad you enjoyed your first night in Ireland and I hope the rest of your holiday was just as nice. Thank you for your lovely review and hope you enjoy the World Cup over there this summer! Regards Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here with my husband on our last night in Ireland. The B&B was lovely, our room was very large and modern. The owner, Niamh was very welcoming and helpful in directing us to dinner nearby. She was willing to cook us an early breakfast and gave us advice on how to best get to the airport in the morning. One slight downside is that Wi-fi is only available in common areas, but apart form that, this place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Hi Katherine & Brian, glad to see you made it home safe & sound. Delighted you enjoyed your last night in Ireland and thanks very much for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Best regards, Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here on 3/4/14 for one night in single room. Niamh was very welcoming on arrival, room and en suite were spotless, very comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely freshly cooked fry with toast,brown bread,tea and orange juice filled me up for th day. I wound def go back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomm4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Hi Thomas, thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay here. I hope your exam went well and the best of luck with any other ones. Kindest regards. Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Attending a function in the Hodson Bay Hotel we booked an overnight in Alverna. What a surprise, a purpose built guest house, lovely comfortable room with a modern en-suite all spotless. Niamh was a wonderful host who insisted on dropping us up to the function in the hotel. Very much appreciated. All this and a super leisurely breakfast. Will definitely revisit when the opportunity occurs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feardoracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for all the nice things you had to say. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back again, if you're in the area. Kindest regards. Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This B&B was our first over-night stay out of Dublin back in mid-October. The location had a definite "rural" flavor and was easy to find. Accommodations, as well as breakfast, were outstanding. Our hosts (Ronan & Niamh) were extremely helpful in guiding us to The Locke Restaurant in Athlone where we experienced an exceptional dinner. My wife and I would not hesitate to book with them should our future excursions to the Emerald Isle take us to the Midlands.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Jim & Barbara. We hope you had a wonderful Christmas and best wishes for 2014. Thanks for your lovely review and so glad we could assist with booking a nice restaurant. We'd love to see you both again so be sure to drop in if you're ever in the area. Best regards, Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,012 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,844 reviews
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverna House B&B

Property: Alverna House B&B
Address: N61 | Kiltoom, Athlone, Roscommon, Cornaseer, Co., Athlone Cornaseer, Kiltoom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alverna House is a modern family home. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We are situated less than 10mins drive on the outskirts of Athlone Town. We are about 3mins from Athlone Golf Club and the Hodson Bay. Full disabled access & facilities are available here. All rooms are en-suite with multi-channel TV and have tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. Children of all ages are always welcome and will enjoy our games room which has a full sized pool table, large plazma TV & Wii, board games etc... There is plenty of free off-road parking and local amenities include Pub, Hotel, Hodson Bay Watersports, Golf, Shops, RC Church, Golfing Range and of course within minutes from the bustling town of Athlone where there are a wide range of restaurants and bars etc.... Clonmacnoise Monastic Site, Kilbeggan Whiskey Distillery & many other attractions are all within a short drive from Athlone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alverna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing