We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B in every way !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alverna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alverna House B&B
Ranked #3 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B in every way !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our room upstairs was huge (two double beds) with 5 star fittings and furniture. We loved the stunning view over the pastures from our bedroom windows! A well balanced breakfast with lots of variety was available. Thanks so much Niamh, for a lovely stay. Andre and Gail.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnerCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Hi Andre & Gail, we're so glad you enjoyed your short stay here and would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review. Regards Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in May; had a lovely room with all mod cons and everything was spotless. This is a very modern property and we had a nice welcome and lovely breakfast. Athlone is about 10 mins drive away and has some reasonable eating places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allanct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Allan, thank you for your very kind words. We're glad you and your friends had a nice stay here and we hope you enjoyed your drive up North in your fabulous cars! Kindest regards, Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

the owners of this property were more than good and helpful The rooms were spotless and very tastefully furnished. The beds were spotless and comfy. The beakfast was perfect for me fresh fruit salad freshly prepared just what I love as I only eat fruit in the morning. My grandson had a ball playing with Niamh and Ronan childrens tractors and tricycle in the back garden. Best B.B. I have stayed in for a long time. Keep the high standards going.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breige A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Breige, thanks for taking time out to leave such a nice review. Hope you found time to relax a bit after your busy weekend. Katie still talks about the little boy who played with her on the bikes! All the best, Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

About 6k out of Athlone, one of the great B&B's. Run by Niamh, it is spotless, modern and convenient to many attractions in the midlands area. We were made to feel very welcome and Niamh pointed us in the right direction in terms of good food in Athlone. The fit out of the rooms and en suites is excellent and the service is friendly and informal. Six kilometres out of town is a bonus!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi to you both. Hope you're having a wonderful time on the rest of your tour of Europe. It was lovely to meet you both and you never know if we ever get to Sydney we might look you up! Thanks and best regards. Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would agree with all the positive reviews for this great B&B. The quality of the furnishings and the en suite was way above what you could reasonably expect - but Niamh and Ronan are raising the bar and spoiling us weary travellers. A friendly, warm, pleasant B&B - more like a home than lodgings - exactly what a B&B should be! AND very gluten-free friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi Lyle, we're really glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay here. Congrats again on your recent award and hope to see you both again at the next competition! Kind regards, Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Niamh and Ronan were wonderfully host's, the rooms are beautiful and clean, the sitting rooms was great social space, we even had tea provided for us all when we sat watching tv together. My son who is 2 had a whale of a time and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely all 5 of us were catered for even my other halfs passion for black pudding ...I can't tell you how wonderful this bed and breakfast is...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickimansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Nicki, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay here. It was lovely to meet all of you and especially your gorgeous little boy. Hope ye had a great time in Westport and that you got to catch up with all the relations. We look forward to meeting you again sometime! Best regards, Niamh & Ronan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Beautiful modern house. The rooms are 4*++ hotel quality.
I am guessing the house was purpose build for a high quality B&B
The food and choice is of excellent quality.
The owner is as warm and friendly as her home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danharnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hi Dan, thanks for your very kind words, you were the perfect guest and gentleman. Hope you get to go diving soon again. Regards Niamh & Ronan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
1.2 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverna House B&B

Property: Alverna House B&B
Address: N61 | Kiltoom, Athlone, Roscommon, Cornaseer, Co., Athlone Cornaseer, Kiltoom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alverna House is a modern family home. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We are situated less than 10mins drive on the outskirts of Athlone Town. We are about 3mins from Athlone Golf Club and the Hodson Bay. Full disabled access & facilities are available here. All rooms are en-suite with multi-channel TV and have tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. Children of all ages are always welcome and will enjoy our games room which has a full sized pool table, large plazma TV & Wii, board games etc... There is plenty of free off-road parking and local amenities include Pub, Hotel, Hodson Bay Watersports, Golf, Shops, RC Church, Golfing Range and of course within minutes from the bustling town of Athlone where there are a wide range of restaurants and bars etc.... Clonmacnoise Monastic Site, Kilbeggan Whiskey Distillery & many other attractions are all within a short drive from Athlone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alverna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing