We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Alverna House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alverna House B&B
Ranked #3 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Alverna House for 2 nights as my husband was playing in a golf tournament at Athlone Golf Club. Niamh and Ronan made us feel at home right away and our room & en suite were wonderful. I have never stayed in such a luxurious b&b. Our breakfasts were excellent and set us up for the day. Nothing was too much trouble for Niamh. The house is beautiful and I would certainly recommend Alverna House to anyone and will certainly stay there again if we are in Athlone. 5* ++

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 80 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at Alverna from 26th to 30th August, we had my elderly mother with us who could not climb stairs and needed a downstairs bedroom with a disabled bathroom.
The facilities Niamh and her husband Ronan offer are second to none, all the bedrooms are beautifully decorated with en suite bathrooms & tea & coffee making facilites. All the rooms are spotlessly clean with fresh towels every day, Breakfast fills you up for the day with a choice of a typical Irish fry, cereals, fruit, scones, soda bread, toast, fresh juices, coffee and tea.
They have a fabulous play room for children and a garden filled with toys, a pool table in the back lounge with a large tv, a smaller homely room at the front with reclining chairs and a tv .
My mother was suitably impressed and enjoyed her stay immensely thanks down to the hospitality shown not just to us but all guests staying at the house. I would not hesitate staying at Alverna again or recommending it to family & friends.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dropdeadlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: どの部屋もゆったりしていた。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 東海周二
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer Richtung Garten sind vielleicht ruhiger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hexemer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niamh M, Owner at Alverna House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,986 reviews
4.3 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
191 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shelmalier House
Shelmalier House
#5 of 20 in Athlone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Shannonside Bed & Breakfast
4.8 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alverna House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverna House B&B

Address: N61 | Kiltoom, Athlone, Roscommon, Cornaseer, Co., Athlone Cornaseer, Kiltoom, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alverna House is a modern family home. Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We are situated less than 10mins drive on the outskirts of Athlone Town. We are about 3mins from Athlone Golf Club and the Hodson Bay. Full disabled access & facilities are available here. All rooms are en-suite with multi-channel TV and have tea/coffee making facilities with biscuits. Children of all ages are always welcome and will enjoy our games room which has a full sized pool table, large plazma TV & Wii, board games etc... There is plenty of free off-road parking and local amenities include Pub, Hotel, Hodson Bay Watersports, Golf, Shops, RC Church, Golfing Range and of course within minutes from the bustling town of Athlone where there are a wide range of restaurants and bars etc.... Clonmacnoise Monastic Site, Kilbeggan Whiskey Distillery & many other attractions are all within a short drive from Athlone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alverna House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing