We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I organised a 20-year college reunion in the Hodson Bay Hotel. We stayed for 2 nights. The group consisted of 18 adults and we had 9 children aged between 2 and 11 on the 1st night only. The 2nd night was for the adults only!! The hotel is located on the shores of Lough Ree a few miles outside Athlone. We made use of the pool with the kids and it was top class. We took a walk along the lake and harbour where there were boats docked. There were several people doing water sports on the lake. We had pub grub on the Friday night which was good and we had a 3 course meal in the Tower dining room on Saturday night which was excellent. Great menu and good food. The rooms were comfortable and we had a view of the lake even though it was a long walk from reception. The hotel was busy on both nights with weddings but we found seating for the full group in the bar. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tippexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for such upbeat and positive feedback. Both you and your group seemed to have really enjoyed your time at the hotel and of course the beautiful views of the lake. Thankfully we are in a position to be able to facilitate each guests needs whether its a family holiday, group night away or a short romantic getaway. I am delighted that both you and your group had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    519
    237
    111
    66
See reviews for
687
656
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Myself and my wife celebrated our wedding aniv and decided to take a one night break in the Hodson Bay Hotel. We got a good deal with a Dinner B&B Sat night break for 210 euro, we arrived mid afternoon and we had previously booked some treatments in the Spa. I had a Shoulder, Back and neck massage while my wife had a facial with neck and shoulder massage.
The Spa was fantastic, the staff friendly, the mood relaxing and the treatments were top drawer, and the relaxation suite was wonderful.. We had use of the swimming pool and thermal spa, which were clean, quiet and very relaxing.
Our meal was in the main restaurant, and the menu as part of the deal was excellent and included steak and a wide choice of starter, main course and dessert.
There was music in the busy buzzing bar, and while the bar service was slow, we only stayed for one drink. A wedding in the main room did not impose on the rest of the hotel.
Our breakfast which was delivered on time to the room in the morning was hot, fresh and not greasy.
The view over the lake was beautiful (although the weather did not help this) and it was a perfect relaxing break for us....

WELL DONE HODSON BAY

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tightrope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Dear Guest

It is always very encouraging for the management and staff at the hotel to read such positive comments. Our aim at the hotel is to ensure that each guest that visits the hotel, whether it be for one night or a family break, has the opportunity to experience all the facilities that we have to offer, and leaves the hotel looking forward to a return visit. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and hopefully you will be back sooner than your next anniversary. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

If you come to Ireland the Hodson Bay Hotel, near Athlone is one hotel you have to visit, even if only for a drink, lunch or dinner. My husband and I spent 2 nights, Dinner, Bed and Breakfast for our Wedding Anniversary at end of July and I have to say it was the most pleasant experience I ever had for a special occasion. They upgraded us to a suite with huge bedroom with sitting area, a 20 foot picture window with views of the lake, which were to die for, lovely bowl of fresh fruit, a huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Wewent to Athlone town, a few kms, for a few hours. There was a festival in Athlone which we could have gone to but we didn't want to leave the hotel it was so relaxing. The food was delicious and the staff both in the restaurant, at reception and the carvery lunch venue, where the food is so reasonable, were exceptionally pleasant. We have travelled quite a lot round the world, in 5 star hotels, and it has to be the best hotel room we have stayed in. The bar had entertainment on the Friday night, and the atmosphere is so good, you can have lunch in the sun lounge at the front which looks out onto the lake. We travelled from Derry in the North of Ireland, which took about 3-4 hours, stopped at Rosses Point Golf Resort for lunch and enjoyed the trip. We also went on a Viking Cruise on the lake which we really enjoyed. The pool was really nice also. The lake has ducks which the kids loved to feed and is within the grounds of the hotel. This hotel was recommended to us by a lady in a hotel outside Ballyconnell who has the franchise for the golf club in the Hodson Bay, and we are so glad to have met her. Please give it a visit. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rit_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. It was delightful to read that you both had such a pleasant experience in the hotel. We use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. I would especially like to thank you for the kind comments about our facilities and more so the comments regarding our staff. I will certainly circulate your kind words around the hotel and place a copy of your review in our staff facilities. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Myself and my parter booked a one night stay here in July, for a retreat room
the drive down to the hotel is gorgeous and once you arrive the lake makes the setting stunning.
On arrival we were greeted by very helpful receptionist, any questions we had were all answered and he couldnt have been more helpful.

We arrived in our room and the view was gorgeous over the golf course and the lake. We made our way down to the bar for some lunch and then onto the leisure centre which has the wow factor, I only wish we had the time to book an appoinment in the spa everything was just so fantastic.
We booked dinner in the hotel to. Everything in this hotel is just fantastic, neither of us could fault it. On the day we arrived there was a huge wedding and usually we've found that the staff are very focused on just the wedding and not what was happening around the hotel,, this isnt the case with the hodson bay from the minute you arrive to the moment we had breakfast they look after you each step of the way.

Our stay here was so fantastic we've booked our wedding here for 2012
A Perfect night away

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate27Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Dear Guest

It was wonderful to read that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would also like to thank you for your kind comments. We truly are delighted that you have decided to hold your wedding in the Hodson Bay Hotel, and we look forward to been part of creating one of the most memorable days in your life together.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had our son's wedding reception in August 2010 at the Hodson Bay ,the Venue was beautiful and clean , A very prompt and professional service was provided and the food was fantastic, all our guests gave great comments about the venue , I don't think we could have picked anywhere better in Ireland. I would highly recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsav54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for such heartfelt feedback. While we have catered for many wedding's over the years our aim is to remember that we are taking part in a very memorable day for each couple and their families. We are delighted that both you and your family have left the hotel with such happy memories, and look forward to welcoming your back again in the future to great some more memories. If you ever have the occasion to return please make us aware as we would be more than happy to accommodate you in any way we can.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have recently spent 2 days at the Hodson Bay with my wife & 2 kids and had to write to say thank you so much - Kids camp & Kids camp staff are a credit to your hotel, Food in & service in the restaurant second to none, great pint & all the staff made us feel so welcome, cant wait to go back and feel so relaxed now i dont mind going back to work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munster1Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We booked this hotel for mid-term break in February for 2 nights b&b and one dinner, for 2 adults and 2 children 5 and 3 years old,unfortunately we didnt get to stay the second night or have dinner in the restaurant as 3 year old got sick and we had to leave on the second day.

This hotel has two parts to it an old part and new bedrooms where the spa is located, we were put into the old part as this is where the family rooms are, the room was quite small and housekeeping was poor with dust and cobwebs around the room, however bed linen and bathroom were spotless.

We used the swimming pool which was fantastic and loved by both us and children.
The kids club for our five year old was exceptional and the staff who run it are very professional, this was the highlight for our 5 year old who was very upset we had to leave early on the second day and leave the kids club.

On our first evening we had food in the bar which I have to say was very poor, it was a carvery that ran all day, and the food certainly looked and tasted like it had been there all day. We really didnt enjoy the bar as it was over busy with no quiet area to have a coffee or drink , so we went out to the lobby area. The hotel could really do with a bar area to have just a drink or coffee/sandwich as the bar with the carvery was chaotic. The staff in the carvery were not as friendly or as efficient as the other staff in the hotel, it was almost like being in another hotel when you entered the bar, so this was the biggest negative for us.

The breakfast was exceptional the next morning with a fabulous selection of cold and hot buffet food, and the staff here were very efficient and friendly.

Unfortunately, we didnt get to eat dinner in the restaurant as we had to leave at 6pm on our second evening. The reception staff were very understanding when we had to leave early and even offered to ring a doctor for our little one, we were not charged for the second night even though we checked out at 6pm.

Although this hotel has a few issues we would like to return as our 5 year old still hasnt stopped talking about the kids club and from other reviews we would like to try out the restaurant for a meal , I think next time we will book 2 rooms connecting as well as the family room was too small for the four of us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathalbrugha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear Guest

We appreciate that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would like to thank you for your comments. At the hotel we are always looking at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us, and we have found your feedback to be informative. Perhaps you might drop me a line to thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com to discuss your feedback in greater detail. I was delighted to read that you would return to the hotel and should this occur I would be greatful if you make us aware, so I could make the necessary arrangements to ensure your stay is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing