We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasent”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for a family wedding and the room was stunning, however I believe we got one of the newly renovated rooms as other family members were in an older part of the hotel. The room decor was lovely, the bathroom was beautiful, the view was great and breakfast which we had delivered to the room was very nice. I would definitely stay here again as I heard the Spa is excellent and would like to try it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,024 - 2,030 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

The email I sent received a promp and friendly response and helped make up our minds about booking a mid-week break. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. The new roomsare warm and bright and very comfortable, the showers are very well designed. We were very well looked after in the leisure area and the spa treatment personnel were excellent. We had a mishap with the car and before I got a chance to ask for help I got three separate offers from staff. My wife, who was dealing with the problem while I was away for the day on business, received several offers of help. The evening meal was first class, as good as we have ever eaten. The hotel offered excellent value for money. we could not speak highly enough of the Hodson Bay, but we were not surprised as we have stayed before. It simply gets better. We just hope business improves. They deserve it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

booked a deluxe room so was suprised to find a tiny bed. the furniture was scuffed and cheap looking as was the artwork .there was a mini bar which was empty and not even a bottle of water in the room!
The bar area was jam packed with kids...this is a very family oriented hotel and smelt of carvery food.A large screen tv was on the whole time
A lovely conservatory area was roped off for wedding guests ony.I have to say the staff were very nice which helped.The breakfast was grand...no complaints there.
do not come here if you want to chillax.....unless you spend all day in a treatment room

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixerclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I'd love to write a long and detailed review of this wonderful place, but 2 days after returning home I'm still too relaxed and blissed out to spend too long typing!! In short - this is the single best hotel for families that I have ever been experienced. If you have kids between the ages of 5 and 10 years old - go in the next school holidays for a complete break - due to the kids' club!!!! There were soooo many kids in the hotel, but we never saw them, over half-term, because they were all being looked after, entertained and fed for free in the club. Now I love my daughter's company and would have been happy for her to spend all of her time with us, but it got so she begged to go to the club and wanted to do her own thing with her new friends. So we got to read, swim, go to the gym, and have dinner on our own. And I spent a wonderful morning in the fantastic spa - really worthwhile experience. Food in the restaurant (included with our deal) was outstanding - the steak was the best we've ever tasted, and the service was superb. The breakfasts were sumptious too! Avoid the bar buffet, though. The setting on the lake was lovely - I'm sure it's fantastic in the Summer. And my daughter said it was the best holiday she's ever had. We can't wait to go back next Hallowe'en!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

spent an extreamly relaxing bank holiday weekend in Athlone at the hodson bay hotel. Stayen in the new section of the hotel - the room's are very nice. The whole purpose of the trip was to use the spa and get relaxed - which we completley got !! The spa is just wonderful - i had a hot stone massage and the girl made me feel very at ease - we used the relaxation room and just chilled all day !!! i askes about getting another appointment before i left and the receptionist recommened a rose facial for me which was just so soothing - well done !!!! we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Jane02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Stayed in the hodson bay for two nights for a mini break.
We had lunch in the bar the first day and had to sit at the bar as it was busy. A guy was stocking the bar and when my boyfriend asked him for some milk he gave him a dirty look and told him to go around the other side of the bar for it and walked off. Reception were very helpful and so were the leisure center staff. There were two broken tiles in the pool which had new tiles just placed on top which both myself and boyfriend ended up stabbing our feet on this was very dangerous as there were loads of children in the pool.
The food in the restaurant was very good and service was good. All in all a very nice hotel but a little overpriced. Stay in the new rooms if possible much nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank south78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We arrived Friday afternoon to lovely scenery,the hotel is right beside the lake.Our room was located near the health spa,fantastic room with a great view,jacuzzi,new tv and immaculately clean,we had dinner booked for the restaurant that night,the menu didn't disappoint,my steak was perfect while my girlfriend had lobster which was fantastic.We had a few drinks in the bar after the meal to top the night off.the following day we sampled the spa,I had a deep tissue massage and felt totally relaxed for the rest of the day,my girlfriend had a massage and a few other treatments,she was pampered for the day,We got up on Sunday morning for breakfast,it was a really nice buffet with loads on offer.The total stay was fantastic,great hotel,beautiful food,really friendly staff and the spa is an absolute must for anyone staying,We are returning for another pampering session during the Christmas holidays

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieranHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $106 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing