We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa Experience to Die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Westmeath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Spa Experience to Die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

I recently spent a night with my mother in the Hodson Bay Hotel. Even though we live in Westmeath we wanted to treat ourselves to a girly treat and heard that the Spa at the Hodson Bay was amazing - and we were not disappointed. We spent the most relaxing afternoon being pampered by the excellent therapists (I'd recommend the Rose Radiance Body Mask). We made use of the thermal spa area and then spent as long as we liked in the relaxation room, lying on a leather recliner, listening to the i-pods provided, nibbling on fresh fruit and looking out over the gorgeous lake. That night we enjoyed a fabulous meal and relaxed even more in the spacious and immaculate rooms. And all for a very reasonable price. We enjoyed it so much that it is now going to become an annual event for us and we are being joined by extended family this year! The staff were so friendly and accomodating and the walk around the amazing hotel grounds the following morning topped the whole experience off.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestmeathMrs_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    515
    232
    110
    64
See reviews for
680
649
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballyporeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

Stayed at the hudson bay hotel a couple of weeks. I went up as part of a group to celebrate a reunion, and we all really had a really good time. We were very happy with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were excellent, and really were a credit to the hotel. We also got to spend some time in the swimming pool before we left, which was one of the best (although busy) i've been to. Also, in these times it's good to see a busy hotel! We'll definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

A large party of us stayed here last night, Oh my god what a complete dump..... The hotel room we stayed in was something resembling a hostel. There were 2 beds in our room, one was a 3 foot and the other was a 4"6, we did not need two beds, just one decent bed would have done the job. The shower broke when i tried to turn it on, the knob came off in my hand......... when i managed to fix it the bathroom floor was soaked because of a leak in the bath, so the floor was really slippy and extremely dangerous. The towels were TINY and i mean TINY , the very very small window which looked into a hallway was FILTHY, which i suppose could be looked upon favourably as it prevented everyone looking into our room. The stations on the tv had no signal so there were only 4 channels, I honestly could go on and on but i will finish by summing up, if you like staying in a nice hotel do not stay here!!!!!!!!. The hotel advertises itself as a four star, it is NOT A 4 STAR HOTEL.oh yea, the food was almost totally inedible...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

We went down here for 1 night for a family reunion. We were given a room which was not very clean, had a broken shower and kettle and a bathroom like those in the hotel rooms in "The Shining" I would describe the view from the windows but they were so filthy I could barely see out. The price was just under €100 for Dinner and B&B. The dinner had a nice vergetable soup while the rest was bland crap. I would tell you what the breakfast was like but when we went down the queue was so long to even get into the restaurant we just gave up and left. We mentioned these issues to the manager who would not apologise nor offer any type of compensation. We have stayed in numerous hotels around Ireland and this place has got to be the worst we have seen yet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlanFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We had a nice room in the new section which was nice but the major disapointment was the food, it's website, inhouse TV info and guest book stated the Octagon Restaurant opened on Fri/Sat and when inquired was advised that it was only opened for breakfast . We had been to the hotel on numerous occasions in the past 8 years and lately we found the L'Escale restaurant food to be dated, stodgy and lacking imagination. This trip was no exception, during our meal we were not asked by any restaurant staff if our meal was ok, it was not good small portion of dry overcooked fish, after we complained to the duty manager who we have to say was excellent. One night we went to Glasson Village Restaurant and the food there was amazing, so go out for dinner or go for the carvery its better value. Overall we enjoyed the hotel,good Spa, good staff but totally let down by the food. Vegetarian options also poor.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djrcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Went for a murder mystery weekend with friends which was extremely good value, in fact the only real murder taking place that weekend was the price of the weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The scenery around the hotel was just beautiful. Well worth treating yourself to one of the spa treatments.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotmailDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

we booked a cooking course and it was great value for money the food and staff was excellent will be back,

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing