We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a beautiful setting. It was very busy the night I stayed here with several conferences on. Check in was efficient and we got a lovely spacious room with great lakeside views. Lunch in the bar was fine (bar the crisps listed as chips on the menu!) Dinner in the restaurant was lovely with great waiter service and advice on the wines on offer. I am not a big fan of buffet breakfast but it was fine with plenty on offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

We feel very privileged to have been so busy and I was delighted to hear that this did not affect our overall customer service skills. I will make sure to relay your comments to the rest of the Management team. Your feedback will be greatly appreciated as it’s important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and loyalty to the hotel.

We would love to see you back at the hotel in the near future. If you do return please feel free to contact me as I would like the opportunity to meet with you and thank you in person for your feedback and custom.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,134)
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,410 - 1,416 of 2,134 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here with our here children over Halloween and were very impressed overall. The setting of the hotel is lovely and in good weather there would be so much to do. The hotel restaurant was excellent. Every element of the two three course meals we had there was without fault. Unfortunately the bar, where we ate on one of our three nights, was poor both in Terms of food and slow service. The fish pie I ordered had two pieces of fish hidden in a plate of mashed potatoes. Our room was fine, quite small and simple but adequate for our needs. The kids club was ok. I think it would be best for children with other siblings or friends as there was No effort to connect newcomers with children their own age . This meant our shy
8 year old only went once! Overall thought a great hotel in a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colhooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

I was disappointed to hear that your son never returned to Kids Camp and I’m sure it would not be the intention of any of our Kids Camp Staff to make him feel left out. I will pass on your comments to our Leisure Centre Manager so he can discuss with his team. We take great pride in being a family friendly hotel and the hotel in fact is a family run business.

I have passed on your comments to our Executive Head Chef, with regarding your dining experience in our L’Escale Restaurant and in our Bar Area. He would like to thank you for your positive comments and your valued criticisms and he pass on your information to his team.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would love to meet you all in person.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and it certainly would be no chore to return. Beautiful lakeside location, super spacious well laid out room, efficient friendly staff. Excellent food :)
An excellent base to explore this beautiful part of the country :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnN30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your charming review on Trip Advisor. I was really happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was heartening to hear that everything was to the high standard we expect here on a consistent basis and your feedback is greatly appreciated. It was also lovely to read that you appreciated the views and scenery around the hotel. We feel very privileged to have this natural waterside location just outside our door and the area itself is a wonderful nature reserve.

We would love to see you return to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please make sure to contact me as I would like to thank you in person for your review and valued custom.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Had a lovely 2 night stay at the hotel this week. Great kids club during the mid term break. Lovely pool. Food excellent. Beautiful lake, friendly staff. Comfortable room. A very pleasant experience! This was our second time at the hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. I was happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at The Hodson Bay Hotel and might I add that your repeat business is greatly appreciated.

It was fantastic to see that you and your family got the opportunity to avail of the facilities on offer here at the hotel. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and meet our guests’ needs and our activities are always under review. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and hotel itself is in fact a family run business.


It was great to hear that you found the standards throughout the hotel to be of such a high caliber and I will endeavor to pass on your kind words to the rest of the Management Team.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would love to meet you all in person and thank you for your valued custom and feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

4 Star?? Definitely not, it is 3 star unless you bump up a hotels rating a star because they added a leisure centre. The hotel is in a promising location but the build of the hotel is cowboy style. No thought put into the structure..bits added on through the years. Who builds a hotel and thinks it is fine for guests to have a room looking out onto the roof (not flat) of an extension. Do I get a discount for that??? Sorry but that is not 4 star, especially when the room was basic, had the thinnest duvet ever, no blanket in wardrobe and thin walls so I could hear every step and syllable of people walking by the room and children being children, running around making noise. No if you want to experience the setting, go for coffee and then back into Athlone town for a decently appointed hotel room, not a ramshackle one. Why don't you put snaps of your rooms without views on the web, give a fair picture of your product offering to people. Breakfast too was a bit of a joke, the attendant at the hot breakfast counter opening and closing each container per person in the long queues, so it took forever to get served, they are heated so keep them open and get on with it!!!! Or let people serve themselves like most hotels do, or display it like carvery setting so it is quicker to dish out. Unbelievable. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, if they cant confirm one, then go to another hotel as you will end up so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction.

It was very unfortunate that I did not get to speak to you prior to your departure and perhaps I could have moved you to a more suitable room or offered you some form of recompense for any anxiety caused. Extra bedding etc. is available from our Accommodation team on request and they would have been more than happy to accommodate your needs if requested. I can assure you that customer care and satisfaction is extremely important to us here at the hotel and we do get a lot of repeat and regular guests because of this hence the reason we are privileged to have been so busy.

We would not be happy to allow our guests to leave the hotel with a negative impression. We would be delighted if you would return to the hotel in the near future and afford us the opportunity to make amends. If you do wish to return, please make sure to contact myself or my PA and we can make the necessary arrangements for you and ensure your stay is a more enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I really didnt enjoy it very much. it was fine but sleeping arrangements were AWFUL. we made reservesations but there was a mix up. We were put in the penthouse BUT my children were sleeping on the floor! it says on their website that theiir penthouse cant acccomadate children and they were the ones who put us in there! the next night we were put in an awful room without enough space. I knew my father in law would go MAD if he heard about it and my children are very young and I was terrified that they might spill the beans. It was all right in the end and they sent us a voucher for the hotel BUT THEN we tried to use it and there was ANOTHER mix up they didnt have the right reservations! I wouldnt reccomend their service but they rest was fine

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor. As a father of three young children myself, I was disappointed to read of your experience. I can assure you that this is not a true reflection of the high standards we maintain and achieve here on a consistent basis.

I have spoken to our Reservations Manager and she too would like to apologise profusely for the anxiety caused to you and your family. She has assured me that she will schedule training with her team immediately to prevent incidents like this arising again in the future.

We would not be happy to allow our guests to leave the hotel with a negative impression. We would be delighted if you and your family would return to the hotel in the near future and afford us the opportunity to make amends for this regrettable experience. If you do wish to return, please make sure to contact myself or my PA and we can make the necessary arrangements for you and ensure room is a more suitable one and offer you some form of recompense as a gesture of goodwill.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here with our two children aged 7 and 5.
The children loved the kids club as there were loads of activities and the leaders catered to all their needs.
The hotel was fantastic to stay in and the dinner in the restaurant was divine.
We availed of the Viking boat trip which was very enjoyable for all of us.
This hotel is fantastic if you have children.
The spa was very good and very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and the hotel itself is in fact a family run business. We are very central to lots of family amenities as well as hosting many indoor activities to keep both young and old entertained.

I was delighted to hear that you and your children got the opportunity to avail of our kids camp during your stay. As a father of three myself, I understand how nice it is for us parents to get the chance to relax and spend some quality time together away from the kids and mostly importantly, to be confident their in safe hands.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would love to meet with you and your family in person and thank you for your fantastic review.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,939 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,084 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $107 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing