We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We recently stayed in the Hodson Bay for a one night break. The hotel is located on the river Shannon (Lough Ree) beside Athlone Golf club, about a 5 minutes drive from Athlone Town Centre. While we didn't experience all facilities, those that we did, were of a high standard:
- Check in / Reception:
Efficient, fast and very friendly, all required information given upon arrival
- Restaurant:
A little limited and somewhat pricey.However the surrounding are pleasant as are the serving staff. Breakfast was superb, with a wide range of fresh cooked food, fruit, cereals, juices etc. A wider array of breads would be nice for those who don't go for the full irish option.
- Bar:
Excellent service and a cracking blazing fire in the corner. Just the thing for a quite night out. The usual one man band type entertainment as supplied, but it was at no point annoying ir intrusive
- Rooms:
Our room was in the original building, overlooking the water. Very well maintained, spacious and comfortable, but will become a tad dated soon.
- location:
Great of you want to chill out in the hotel, where there are fitness facilities and of course the lake and access to the Shannon. A taxi is required into town though, if you want a night out.

Room Tip: Request a river view or a room in thenew wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac10K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
I would like to thank you for your comments and appreciate the time and effort you put into going on Trip Advisor and reviewing the hotel. In relation to the Restaurant, we have an extensive a la carte menu which has a choice of 1, 2 or 3 courses and an offer of 59 euro for 2 people. We appreciate all the other positive comments and if you do return to the hotel in the future I would like if you would contact me on thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com as I would like to greet you in person, Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    510
    223
    108
    62
See reviews for
669
637
25
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here recently for business and found the location beautiful with the River Shannon just outside the door. The room was confortable and had everything I needed. Bar was lovely and food very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
It was wonderful to read that there were many positive aspects to your stay and I would also like to thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here for a conference in November 2011. The hotel is really nice, sitting on the edge of Lough Ree. Bedroom was spacious and very nice with all the usual comforts. The main restaurant had a slightly limited table d'hote menu but the food served was excellent. There was also a very good choice of food in the bar area. Hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
It wa wonderful to read that there was so many positive aspects to your stay and I would like to thank you for your comments. At the hotel, we use feedback such as yours to look at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us. Please make us aware when you are returning so I can meet and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here 3rd to 6th November. Beautiful setting on a lake....peaceful and the weather was glorious. Room basic, clean and fit for purpose. Kids club very good and staff were great. Took the viking boat trip which was thoroughly enjoyed by my 9year old. Ciaron and Michael were very friendly and nothing was a bother for either of them and they were also very informative of the area and the local wildlife. Thanks for the trip guys and keep up the brilliant work. Found restaurant in hotel very expensive, although tasty enough, if you haven't got a dinner package included. Tip: ask for a jug of water otherwise you will be given bottled water and charged accordingly, as we were. Overall enjoyed and would re-visit again, especially in the summer months for the watersports.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deery844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
It was wonderful to read that there were so many positive aspects to your stay and I'm delighted your children enjoyed the kids camp so much. I would also like to thank you for your comments which we have taken on board. At the hotel, we use feedback such as yours to look at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us. Please make us aware when you are returning so I can meet ande welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Our first visit to the Athlone Hodson Bay Hotel was over 13 years ago with our first child and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The same cannot be said for my return visit with my 3 children recently. I found our bedroom very shabby and like the entire hotel badly in need of a makeover. The hotel advertised daily entertainment in the form of bingo etc and I decided to bring my daughter one afternoon. We made our way to the function room, after being directed by reception, but after waiting for over 20 minutes went back to reception to be told that it was being cancelled. This pattern followed each day when we tried to join organised activities. On the whole I found the reception staff extremely unhelpful to the point of rude. I will not be returning.

Room Tip: A new wing was added to the hotel and I believe that these rooms are better but adults only, No fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I would thoroughly recommend the Hodson Bay Hotel for any group / family. We had 28 extended family members there over the weekend of all ages. The staff simply couldnt have been nicer, the food was excellent and the facilities very good. We all agreed to return there regularly.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Down
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Went to a business conference with my husband. Really lovely hotel and very helpful friendly staff - except for 1 girl on reception who was extremely rude. A work colleague & myself were discussing the rooms while in the reception area - my colleague asked did my husband and I want to swap rooms with her.(hers was a superior room with nicer view & she was on her own)
Receptionist interrupted with " I'm sure there are plenty of other people who would gladly take your room if you don't want it." She then asked me to show my door key/card as she didn't remember me checking in! Very unpleasant girl! Apart from this we could not fault anything, Evening meal was very good & restaurant/bar staff were very accomodating. Plenty of options to choose from for breakfast. Very nice pool area - which we made use of before breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel. I welcome your feedback and would like to apologise sincerely for the experience you and your partner endured. I can assure you this is not the standard of customer service normally here at the hotel. It would however appear there was an obvious lapse in standards during your stay with us. It is unfortunate we did not get to meet prior to your departure so we could have had the opportunity to discuss this matter in greater detail, please drop me a line to thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards

Mr Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing