We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
clifden
2 reviews
“excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

my wife and i with our 2 1/2 year old twin boys stayed at the prince of wales recently (june 10,11),on arrival we found very friendly staff,a perfect room for our needs,spotless and very comfortable,we had food in the bar,which was excellent and very reasonably priced,we came back the next evening it was so good,again we found the staff friendly and helpfull,bringing colouring pencils and paper to keep the boys entertained,breakfast was equally good with lots to choose from,perfect location in athlone with lots to do nearby for a family breakaway,great hotel with old world charm,we are already considering a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finolaclifden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    224
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
90
293
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Connemara for a short break. We had dinner in the bar which was above average for the price. Our room was spacious and clean with a huge bed. We stayed mid week so it was reasonably quiet. I would imagine it could be noisy at the weekends as there is a night club in the hotel. The breakfast was the best part of the stay. I enjoyed the tastiest Irish breakfast that I have had for a long time. The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JomarDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed in the Prince of Wales on the 14th June. Its very centrally located, right in the heart of Athlone and ideal for shopping. We requested a quiet room when we booked and we got one at the back of the hotel, all was quiet until 2am when we were awoken by shouting and roaring by other guests. When we rang reception it was taken care of instantly and all was quiet for the rest of the night. The food in the bar was average but all staff that we met were so helpful and nice. Overall we had a pleasant stay and the friendliness of the staff more than made up for the way we were woken during the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itaandnoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. I had a meal in the hotel bar and even though the bar was very busy, the meal was good. I had to order it twice though as the waiter had forgotten me. I'd have no problem staying her again though as the hotel is in an excellent location and is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan_J_Sweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked this hotel because of the location. Very central and we wanted to eat overlooking the Shannon (see my review of 'The Olive Grove' in restaurants). Room was fine for the price. Staff were helpful and the carpark was free. Breakfast was memorable only that we had to send almost all the cutlery and cups back, and the staff had a job to find clean ones. I don't want someone elses breakfast on my fork. There is a club in the hotel which ran until 2.00am ON A SUNDAY! The noise from the club goers outside the club/hotel went on from around midnight till 2.30. I am a good sleeper, especially after a pint or two of the black stuff, but this was over the top. Then we get to the overnighters from the club staying at the hotel. I had to ring down to reception at 5.30 am to ask them to 'have a word'. Oh, and the refuse truck at 7.30. We left very grumpily in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose your room very carefully. Make a specific request for a room as far away from the disco as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grassbeneathmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were a party of 36 English visitors, and of the four hotels we stayed at the Prince of Wales was by far the nicest. The main point is that the dinner was exceptionally good, especially since we were on a negotiated rate. It was the only hotel where we felt the food had been sourced locally and carefully prepared and cooked in their kitchen, rather than the others where it was a sort of heated-up micro-wave offering without any care or attention.
The unfortunate element at the P of W was that at breakfast the following day they were severely short-staffed and the poor lad doing all the serving really couldn't cope single-handed. Things were cold and late. But the Manager assured me later that they had had difficulties that morning, and I honestly wouldn't want to hold that minor grievance against them, after the splendid meal of the evening before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chorister_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed on 2 separate nights. Good rooms. Clean. Big shower. Very helpful staff. Had mini breakfast very good value at 6 euro. Had carvery lunch at 4pm just before closing and was disappointed - veg watery and tasteless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing