We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Why Athlone ??I was meeting up with a group of people that I went to College with a few years ago. Athlone is a great location for most people to travel to. This hotel gave a great deal on dinner, bed and breakfast. We had a lovely room to eat our meal in private and also watch a photo presentation which was great, the breakfast was nice and we had a few choices. The rooms were lovely and clean. We then went down stairs to the night club for a few tunes and a bit of banter. so all in all we did not move from this hotel all night and we were happy to stay here.

Room Tip: Great to meet up with a big group.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
There are newer reviews for The Prince of Wales Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 849 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

it is a lovly hotel the staff are very nice and helpfull and food is very good would stay there again athlone is a great place for a weekend lots of nice pubs and they all seem to have music in them as this hotel had friday and sat day nite a good band each night

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tazz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed in the hotel on March 16th as part of a hen group of 20+, each and every one of us were delighted with our stay. As one of the hen organisers I was very impressed by the standard of the reception we received. The attention to detail was brilliant even down to the hand written card in our "Hens" room with a bottle of bubby wishing her well on her weekend and married life. The staff were brilliant and very happy to help, rooms were spotless, overall the hotel was of a very high standard across the board. The food served to us was delicious and very prompt. Cant recommend enough, will definitely be heading back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Monday 18th March, was travelling to Athlone and heard the advertisement for this hotel on the radio. It stated Mon to Thur 2 course menu available for 15 euro from 4.30. It sounded a nice place so we decided to stop off and have food as the time suited fine. Went into to the hotel with 3 others and there were signs up everywhere advertising this same special. On taking a seat beside the fire, there were two ladies cleaning up and continued to do so. Then one of them started putting menus on the tables and eventually came over. When we said we wanted to order food, she just casually said it will be at least 4.50 before I start. When I stated it said 4.30, she said not on Bank Holidays. No where on the posters did it state different time for Bank Holidays or on the radio. We left and went somewhere else. Just did not like the attitude of the girl that dealt with us. Disappointing! It was a lovely hotel and lovely and warm pity about the service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Carina12Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I attended a hen night at this hotel over Paddys weekend. Its a great location but having said that it didn't really matter as everything was under one roof. We did an activity during the day, followed by dinner and drinks. Finally we got passes for the night club down stairs. The staff were really nice and in fairness they put up with alot! Free parking at the back of the hotel which is always a plus!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty_jat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently as part of a hen party.great location ideal for the night that was in it. The hotel organised all our activities which was great. We had dinner in the restaurant the standard of food was okay but the service was excellent really attentive staff that couldn't do enough for us. We drank in the bar to a live band then headed into the nightclub everything was so convenient. Only around 4am that I really got to check my room out and unfortunately noticed two hairs of different lengths and colours in my bed,I honestly was too tired to complain. The shower was great with double jets however the bathroom itself wasn't overly attractive. Breakfast was amazing really tasty and once again every need is catered for. Overall this is a very central hotel with excellent staff that are the best part of it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralphy2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

On March 3rd 2013, Killimor Camogie Club lost the All Ireland Club final to Milford of Cork, but on arriving at the Prince of Wales Hotel one would never think we were the loosers, we were met with a heroes welcome, treated to very fine, hot and tasty food served by excellent staff and all in all nothing was left undone, our table mats and centrepiece were of our club colours and on entry to our dining room hung a large team photo. Thanks to John, Padaic and all the staff of the Prince of Wales who treated us so very well that evening!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMarieGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $63 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing