We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“taken by surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Whilst having lunch in lobby six members of staff set about cleaning the lobby. They sprayed the leatherette furniture beside me. They dusted all around me, they hoovered beside me and sprayed glass nearby. A member of reception staff spoke to the cleaners as they worked. Manager Padraic Whelan was walking around. Nobody mentioned a word of apology or explanation for such a gross intrusive, offensive and potentially health hazard behaviour. Never again!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank mckroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your experience in the Prince Of Wales hotel.Again I apologize for your bad experience as I did in the mail i sent on the 31st of August.
We have since reviewed the time of the day that we clean our lobby area and leave it until after 3 pm so as not to disturb guests but after a busy lunch with spillages and footfall we do have to deep clean the lobby most days . As stated in my previous mail should you wish at any stage to contact me directly please feel free to.Again my apologies.
Regards
padraic Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 888 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for a hen party. Its a very central hotel with everything we needed within walking distance. The staff were very helpful. We had a slight problem with one of our activities which we had organised through the hotel. However the hotel dealt with this brilliantly and did all they could to correct things and to adjust our dinner booking to facilitate us. The rooms were clean and comfortable but more than anything the staff in the hotel were great

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trimob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is in such a great location, right in the heart of Athlone town, just a few steps away from the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre. The hotel itself has good sized bedrooms, which are clean and comfortable. The bathroom/shower room is also clean and of standard size. Breakfast was great, orders taken at the table which was great as the food was hot and of generous portions when served by the waitress. Overall the stay at the Prince of Wales Hotel was very pleasent, no complaints and would consider visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed during week in this familiar town on a visit to family,can't imagine staying anywhere else now. Nothing too much trouble, we gave up trying to think of something the staff couldn't accommodate!After first meal it seemed pointless going anywhere else to eat;from the presentation to the last mouthful we relished it all.The management are to be congratulated on their staff recruitment as you couldn't pick a winner for employee of the month out of the ones who looked after us and they wouldn't accept a tip!! Room service was efficient and discreet; there was a supply of door signs to inform staff of your needs, which were quickly met and bed was glorious!

Room Tip: room 208 does not have a view but it didn't matter to us as the whole experience outweighed this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richardette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Prince of Wales hotel. We have stayed there many times before and find the location is excellent for shopping, sight seeing etc. Our room was bright and very clean. The staff are all very pleasant and willing to help. The food is good value for money also. The room rate was excellent value for money. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just home from a weekend in The Prince of Wales. 20 of us were on our friend Lousie's hen, the hotel was excellent and so accomodating to us all!!!! Nothing was too much for them :)

Air conditioning in the room as well which is great when u are 3 girls getting ready together!!!

Would defo recommend this hotel and all the staff were lovely too

Room Tip: 1st floor had great air con and the wi fi was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just come back from an 8 night stay Everything about the hotel was great The staff especially Ian were very pleasent helpfull and friendly The food was excellent and the rooms clean and tidy everydayThe location near the new town centre is a great bonus The vaired bar menu gave great choice of food at a good price Hope to return soon

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay especially considering you were with us for 8 nights, so no doubt you saw the best and the worst the hotel has to offer. I have also passed your kind comments onto Ian.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Athlone in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,224 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $59 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing