We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$338
$271
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
$101
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$73
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$65
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$53
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveler rating
499
258
80
37
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
258
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 910 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July for a hen party. As the organiser of the party I found the hotel exceptionally helpful. Olivia on reception was friendly, professional and went out of her way to help us with everything.

We needed to change rooms on check-in to a larger room and even though the hotel was fully booked a very kind house keeper managed to get us a bigger room. After showing me a couple of alternatives she spoke to Olivia on reception who did some juggling with our assigned rooms and got us sorted.

The bar at night is busy with a DJ and a great athmosphere for a hens. The cocktail specials went down a treat.

Dinner in the hotel was average, due to a number of hens booked in we were all put in one room and served together. The food was fine, nothing exceptional but was sufficient for the occasion.

We did get great value for money from the hotel and for a hen party its a great option as the night club is right next door and the staff are very accommodating.

The rooms were clean and modern.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Was in Athlone last weekend and as we were on a tight schedule decided to stop off for a carvery lunch at the Prince. Checked out the menu and ordered one Lasagne and one Pork. My partner did not like the look of the potatoes and asked for a portion of chips and was informed by the chef that it would be an additional 2-95 for chips !!!!!! As I was having pork I had the potato but when I got my plate I could see why my partner asked for chips as they had a gloopy sticky consistency and were not at all nice.
After we finished our meal and I was on the way back from the toilets I noticed a menu on a little stand at the bar door leading from the reception area and on it was the carvery menu, it did state that carvery came with veg and potato and a portion of chips were an additional 3-95. So we either heard the chef incorrectly or the price on the menu was incorrect. Either way 2-95 or 3-95 is to much for chips when the standard of potato was so poor.
Management response will probably be that the additional cost is on the menu - it is not however written on the large blackboard beside the carvery that most customers will consult.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snudge73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

I would like to apologise if you felt you were ripped off. We do take all comments on board positive and negative. As a follow on from your comment, we have implemented a policy of giving our diners a portion of chips at lunchtime for a reduced price of €2. In our defence I am happy that you were informed on ordering that there was an extra charge. Unfortunatley we do not have the space on our blackboard to write our side orders on, but we do print 15 menus every day and dispense these around the bar and at the entrance to the bar. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

If ever back in Athlone please contact me directly on manager@theprinceofwales.ie so I can ensure you have an enjoyable experience.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for a night over the bank holiday weekend and had a great time. The hotel is really nice and has everything you need. The staff a really nice and a special mention of thanks to the girl on reception who we checked in with.. She was so helpful and went out of her way for us..
We'll defintely be back again

Patrick

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay in the Prince of Wales and taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your kind comments along to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel staff were excellent, couldn't fault them. They went out of their way to accommodate us for every need. Even put on a complimentary breakfast when we accidentally slept through the regular one! Really couldn't speak higher of the service, location, cleanliness and generally everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limerick_IrelandAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to read your positive review. We genuinely try our best to place customers needs first. Your kind comments have been passed along to all the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was visiting for business, so the free and fast internet was very welcome. Breakfast lacked any cheese but that was all that was missing, the food was good and the coffee just right.

The bar downstairs was friendly and a nice place to start the evening but later on turned into a teenager hotspot, then into a full blown party place. Kick-out of the nightclub in the basement was 2:30am and for the 30 minutes after that the noise from outside ensured that no-one could sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if possible
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

We were delighted to read your positive review. For the summer months we receive a lot of students on language exchange on a Thursday night and they can have a good party but I understant that this may not be to everyones liking and I hope it did not detract too much from your stay. Being town centre and having a night club in the vicinity we sometimes get comments re noise but we have fitted any rooms that we thought noisy with an extra set of inner windows and air-conditioning so these windows can be kept closed. When back with us please request a room at the back or side of the building.

Thank you for your observation in relation to the cheese. We cook all our breakfasts fresh and would urge anyone who requests something not on our buffet to ask and we will oblige.

Again thank you for your constructive comments positive and negative and we look forward to having you back as a guest but in a "Quieter" room.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews