We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week break in Athlone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mid week break in Athlone”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Recently returned from a mid week break at the Prince of Wales, our third. The hotel was as good and the staff as friendly as ever. We had a front room this time with a nice view of the church. The sound proofing was excellent so there was no traffic noise. A nice feature of the room was a low level light beside the en-suite door- very useful at night for old and young! The breakfasts were as good as ever and we had all our evening meals in the Prince bar, the food not only tasted terrific but the presentation was excellent.
Athlone is a lovely old town with very nice riverside walks, but is also good touring centre, we went to Galway one day and explored around Louhg Derg on another one.
We would realy recommend a stay here.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    238
    75
    30
    34
See reviews for
99
311
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Have recently stayed at prince of wales hotel and were well looked after by all the staff who were excellent ,rooms were very comfortable and clean, food was excellent and was very reasonable as were the drinks in the bar. Will be staing at prin of wales any time we are visiting Athlone,and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting athlone.

couple from Dublin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and more important that you will be back to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Midlands and The Prince of Wales in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed in Prince of Wales for midweek break, had a great time. ideally located in centre of town for shopping and nights out. Rooms were lovely, great atmosphere in the bar, food was great as was the service received from the bar staff and reception staff. Highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

Thank you for choosing to stay in the Prince of Wales and taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read your kind comments in relation to your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just back from a hen weekend we stayed in the Prince of Wales hotel. We only stayed one night but some stayed two nights and everyone had the same good reviews of the hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly .We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and we also ate at the bar the food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel .You will get great service and value for money

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbentley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review.

We strive to constantly improve our service and what we offer and its nice to see that its noticed.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Great location, great value, free parking, coffee supplied free of charge apon arrival and departure in the bar,
Had a very enjoyable stay with great food and service.
Rooms were clean and spacious four a city centre hotel.
Love to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOLANNA-TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay. We recently started offering the free Tea/Coffee and a lot of people have commented on it. I suppose as the saying goes "Its the small things that count".

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed in The Prince of Wales recently. I was attending a hen party. I have to say from start to finish the hotel was excellent. We had dinner in the hotel that night and it was really lovely and the service was very fast, but the food was hot and freshly cooked. The resturant was busy at the time and staff seemed to have a lot of time for everyone. The room was perfect, clean and the bathroom was huge!

I would strongly recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

Thank you for your nice comments in relation to your hen party in the Prince of Wales. We cook everything fresh and make our own sauces, desserts and prepare everything in house.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend for a week end. Found the hotel to be very comfortable. The room was spotless. We ate in the prince bar. Food was very good & very reasonable. The hotel is very central so we were able to go around the town. Plenty of things to do & plenty of good bars. Went to karma nite club one nite. It was buzzin. Overall a great place for a get away week end

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobrien29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Prince of Wales Hotel.

We were delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay and even made Karma.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and the Midlands on your next trip.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing