We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
nat666
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

Stayed here last weekend. From start to finish a lovely enjoyable stay. Reception staff efficient and welcoming. Room modern and clean. Had dinner in restaurant which was just devine. Bar was lively and breakfast the next morning was delicious with buffet for cereals etc but full irish served to you at the table. Athlone is a great town-very lively. Hotel is right in the centre of the town. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    222
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
88
289
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noepe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I can't think of a reason anyone would stay here, other than to crash after a night in the nightclub downstairs.

I was NOT happy.

I had made my reservation weeks before and booked a smoking room. The reservation was confirmed. Not until we arrived was I told that the hotel had gone non-smoking three months prior and that the website had not been updated. Not happy. But, as a late arrival after a long ride, what is one to do? Suck it up.

And it did.

The first clue should have been the packing tape over the elevator button in the lobby. We should have stopped there. Oh, but no....

... we continued up to our floor, down ill light hallways, across poorly cleaned carpeting.

Upon entering the room it is quite apparent why the hotel had gone non-smoking. Apparently, many of the prior guests in the room had attempted to burn down the buidling with lit cigarettes. There were burn marks on the tables, carpets, chairs, etc. Sorry, but if you're going to charge me a €200 fee for smoking in the room, I would think that management had previously charged for damages to the room and should have replaced the furniture. Ah.... no. Any any cleaning fee would apparently go elsewhere, as cleaning is very obviously not a high priority. After finding a hair in my bedding and in the shower, my travelling companion and I attacked the room with cleaning wipes. (Yes, I'm that kind of person). I've very rarely needed to use cleaning wipes in a room before, but was very, very glad I had them. Well, maybe not....

After wiping down most of the useable surfaces in the room, I was particularly horrified by the amount of very visible filth I removed from the padded headboard. You know, the place where your own precious head will rest? Disgusting. I would assume that most was tobacco residue (and probably some hair oil), but it was an obvious sign that the room had not been properly cleaned in at least three months.

Not enough? The carpets were radomly stained, as was the wallpaper in the room. (I took photos which I am too lazy to load.... sorry... gotta take my word on this one). Seriously gross. Had it been any earlier at all, we would have been out of there.

Morning arrived and we discovered that our room had a particulary unsettling view of a littered roof below and the adjacent seemingly abandoned barred building. It was like being in jail. I've never checked out of a room so fast in my life. And I must say, overall, the place had a horrible feel to it. I can't put my finger on it, but my friend felt exactly the same way.

We did stop for breakfast as we had paid for it, but would have done better with an egg sandwich from Tesco. The buffet looked pitiful, and the cooked breakfast was one step up from inedible. The only upside was the satisfaction of finding that I wasn't the only deceived guest there -- a recovering hen party was seated nearby, unhappily complaining about the misadvertised smoking accomodations.

The upside? The staff tired hard. I actually felt sorry for them. It's the management that should be taken out and flogged. The Prince of Wales is so utterly mismanaged and is obviously a black hole of income for whomever is sucking the life out of the place. Best of luck to the staff... keep your chins up, keep your paychecks, and keep a lookout for alternative employment. This place is in a death spiral.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BieneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night with a group of friends. We were over in the town to play golf. I have to say that from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after very well. Location is excellent. Food was very good. Rooms, spotless, warm and comfortable. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Dear 2red,
Thanks very much for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to looking after you again when you return to Athlone.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
246 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Lovely hotel with good suite at superb price. meals and breakfast provided at very decent price if booked and paid in advance.

Hotel has own parking lot which is great for hotel in town centre

Athlone was lovely place with lovely friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CummingDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear guest,
Thanks for your kind words. We're really glad that you enjoyed the hotel and also enjoyed your time in Athlone. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back. Keep an eye on our website for our best offers!
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

I would give this Hotel a 5* plus rating. Everything about it was good I could not fault it on anything

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChrisGreg0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Dear Chris,
Thanks you for your kind words. I'm delighted you were so well looked after. We hope we get a chance to welcome you back to the prince of Wales before too long.
All the best,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

really nice hotel,lots of features in room including a dvd player and an extensive library of movies available for just a deposit....well impressed!

Room Tip: reception so helpful specially Vicky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blueboo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
Hi Blueboo,
Thanks for taking the time to review us here. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your compliments to Vicky! We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

This is the type of hotel that has it all! Not one of your normal 4 star hotels with nice rooms but no real atmosphere. From a beautiful buffet lunch or a evening high quality steak you can guarantee nice food throughout the day. This seems to be a popular hotel with both locals and tourists who come and go all day.Although i travelled for business i would come hear again for short break. Central location with shops / entertainment on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Any room should be comfortable and affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Bobbydarin,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.2 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing