We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
$188
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$122
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$94
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
42
8
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly hostsb bon arrivala great place to staycaramelirelandseanradiator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 53 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

A group of friends and myself stayed in Riverview House last weekend, what fantastic hospitality! We were welcomed with Tea & Scones on arrival which were lovely and much appreciated after a long drive. Our rooms were very comfortable, clean and breakfast was excellent. The owner recommended and booked a lovely restaurant for us and also organised taxis for us which was great. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked for a couple of nights in September - but left after 1 night in a hurry.
We arrived very late the first night, so more or less went straight to bed. I sat up in bed and leaned back on the pillow to read my book and both side cabinets/tables came off the floor - my husband and I were gobsmackedi - the bed was awful there was no substance to the mattress at all and we didnt sleep all night. It got worse in the morning when we went into the bathroom and looked at it properly in daylight - we got out of there in a hurry, it was really dirty, rusty radiators cracked dirty tiles the list is endless. We spoke to the owner who agreed the beds weren't great but went on to say that his wife had recently ordered new beds - that's helpful !!! I personally think with new beds and new bathrooms and some updating this place could do so much better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverview500, Owner at Riverview House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

I am the owner of Riverview House. We welcome feedback from our guests. I am passionate about my business and strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. We are happy to take constructive criticism on board, and if necessary put corrective measures in place.
However in this instance I question the motive behind the review. At no stage was a compliant made to me, either during their very late arrival or indeed over breakfast next morning. I too was gob smacked to discover from my husband that the guests had “checked out” and did not stay or pay for the 2nd night . We are in business for 20 years, maintain great relationship with our guests and have many complimentary notes in our guest books to prove it. Ultimately we cannot control this type of reporting which puts our business in an unfair light. I must defend our business and find the review to be irresponsible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very friendly and helpful hosts; off road parking; tea and scone in bedroom on arrival; excellent breakfast; good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews