We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Worn Out Beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked for a couple of nights in September - but left after 1 night in a hurry.
We arrived very late the first night, so more or less went straight to bed. I sat up in bed and leaned back on the pillow to read my book and both side cabinets/tables came off the floor - my husband and I were gobsmackedi - the bed was awful there was no substance to the mattress at all and we didnt sleep all night. It got worse in the morning when we went into the bathroom and looked at it properly in daylight - we got out of there in a hurry, it was really dirty, rusty radiators cracked dirty tiles the list is endless. We spoke to the owner who agreed the beds weren't great but went on to say that his wife had recently ordered new beds - that's helpful !!! I personally think with new beds and new bathrooms and some updating this place could do so much better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riverview500, Owner at Riverview House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

I am the owner of Riverview House. We welcome feedback from our guests. I am passionate about my business and strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. We are happy to take constructive criticism on board, and if necessary put corrective measures in place.
However in this instance I question the motive behind the review. At no stage was a compliant made to me, either during their very late arrival or indeed over breakfast next morning. I too was gob smacked to discover from my husband that the guests had “checked out” and did not stay or pay for the 2nd night . We are in business for 20 years, maintain great relationship with our guests and have many complimentary notes in our guest books to prove it. Ultimately we cannot control this type of reporting which puts our business in an unfair light. I must defend our business and find the review to be irresponsible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very friendly and helpful hosts; off road parking; tea and scone in bedroom on arrival; excellent breakfast; good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelMartineWuillemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giada D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.7 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shelmalier House
Shelmalier House
#5 of 20 in Athlone
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Summerhill, Old Galway Rd, R446, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverview House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story red brick house located on the R446 on the west side of Athlone, 2 minute drive from M6 to Galway or Dublin. Free private parking. Free Wifi. All rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs & Tea/Coffee facilities. Garden for guests use. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverview House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing