We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hatters Bistro

Hatters Bistro
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Hatter's Lane Bistro at Strand Street on Athlone's Leinster shore. Ideally located 3 minutes from the Town Bridge, Radisson, Prince of Wales and Sheraton hotels. The Hollywood themed bistro offers a welcoming cosy atmosphere with open fire, check table clothes, walls adorned with movie star icons. The background music is easy listening typically featuring tunes from Sinatra, Martin, Bennett and the likes... Running in tandem with Gertie Brown's old world award winning pub, Hatters Lane offers the customer a unique and satisfying dining experience and hopefully will continue to serve great food well for years to come...
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We had an excellent steak, beautifully prepared and delicious! The setting is cosy and welcoming. Highly reccommended!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coosan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    67
    14
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Uber impressed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Had dinner with my husband on Saturday night. We had soup and pudding dish for starters, fish trio and steak for mains and toblerone cheesecake for dessert. Enjoyed every bite, plus we found it great value. Highly recommend Hatters. Thanks to Mary for the great service. Will be back :-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Went there on Friday (9/9/11) as I'd never been there before. Had table booked and was promptly seated when we arrived. We were given some complimentary breads while we browsed the menu. Decided on the garlic bread for starters which was big enough for a main meal! The mrs had the black pudding and potato cake and she loved it. For mains, I'd the steak and mash. It was cooked perfectly, and the pepper sauce was gorgeous. The mrs chose the Malaysian chicken (chicken curry) and she loved that too. I finished up with some toblerone cheesecake which again was gorgeous.
I can't say a bad thing about the place. You could argue that its a pricey spot, but the quality of the food, the atmosphere in the restaurant and the overall feeling about the place makes it worth it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TommerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So so so overpriced, mediocre food!! (lovely atmosphere though!!)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

This restaurant has had a good reputation in Athlone for, in my oppinion, far too long now! It is over priced and the food itself is mediocre. Yes the steaks are relaible....but a ridiculous price...so, when brought here (usually against my will) I always order an alternative and am inevitably bitterly disappointed!!
The only thing it has going for it is the great pub upstairs (gerties) and the actual decor and ambiance in the restaurant itself which is very romantic.
They have not even made an effort with an early bird menu!! They do not deserve to still be in business!! It baffles me that people still choose to dine here when there are NUMEROUS better restaurants in Athlone!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AliHan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Steak eaters delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Sometimes you just get a lovely feeling when you walk into a authentic restaurant. This has it all! Lovely little restaurant with steak to die for. Staff are very pleasant and helpful and go through all specials on offer etc. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Darin1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hatters Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Hatters Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing