We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Food, But...”

The Fatted Calf Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 107 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $32
Cuisines: Irish, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At The Fatted Calf Restaurant, our mission is to source and forage the best of local, Irish artisan produce, which we cook and serve on seasonal menus to our customers. All of our wines come from small, family producers from Wines Direct, Liberty Wines and Tindal Wines, our grass fed dry aged beef is supplied by John Stone Fine Foods.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch on a cold miserable Tuesday in March and have to concede that the food was excellent. Fresh produce, imaginative cooking, wholesome fresh bakery breads still oven-warm, and overall not so pricey as to strain the wallet. I would have given a 5 point rating were it not for the front of house housekeeping which lets this restaurant down; I know it's a converted combi-bar and restaurant, but the front of house windows and sills could certainly do with a little attention...it amazing what one notices when seated next to a window which doesn't really offer a view to distract!!! But eating out is about the food, and the food was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank houseofj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 442 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

First time visiting The Fatted Calf, husband booked for my birthday lunch, food was fab and the service was excellent, I don't know why it took us do long to visit this restaurant but we will definitely return,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paraicin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food was good but way overpriced. The waitress got our steaks mixed up and we only discovered this after tucking in. We had to ask for steak knives

3 large chips with the steak and a small bowl of veg between 2. Was tasty and quality of steak was excellent, but as I said, way overpriced. It's a pub after all

Staff were lovely though. I wouldn't go back again, but only because of the ridiculous prices

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Ritchie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great food and plenty of it, will definitely drop in next time I am closeby. We are glad we booked in advance too as the place was packed, and understandably so.

1  Thank TomK316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had food here and I have to say it wasnt great. We said we were in a hurry when asked if we had a reservation all but two tables were empty anyway so it wasnt busy ... its a pub not a 5 star dining experience .. we skipped starter's and both ordered sirloin steaks .. 45 mins later our steaks arrived no explanation nothing ... people arrived later than us were getting there food all around us... three chips and one small bowl of veg accompanied the steaks .all for the fine price of 27 euro each ! These prices are unreal service was bad and all in all I wouldn't bother again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Lee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattedCalfManager, Owner at The Fatted Calf Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We asked if you had a reservation, because all other tables were reserved in the following 1/2 hour or hour, and we need to ensure that all of our customers are allocated their table at their required reservation time. All of our food is cooked to order, and a well done sirloin steak will take up to 30 - 35 minutes to cook. All of our food is carefully sourced, and we can ensure traceability and quality. Our main courses start at €16 and prices are clearly listed on the menu. We do offer a supper menu which is 2 courses €20 or 3 courses €25 Tuesday to Friday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fatted Calf Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Fatted Calf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing