We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, efficient service”

The Fatted Calf Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 98 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $29
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Fatted Calf Restaurant, our mission is to source and forage the best of local, Irish artisan produce, which we cook and serve on seasonal menus to our customers. All of our wines come from small, family producers from Wines Direct, Liberty Wines and Tindal Wines, our grass fed dry aged beef is supplied by John Stone Fine Foods.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, efficient service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

First time visiting The Fatted Calf, husband booked for my birthday lunch, food was fab and the service was excellent, I don't know why it took us do long to visit this restaurant but we will definitely return,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraicin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    101
    48
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, but way over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Food was good but way overpriced. The waitress got our steaks mixed up and we only discovered this after tucking in. We had to ask for steak knives

3 large chips with the steak and a small bowl of veg between 2. Was tasty and quality of steak was excellent, but as I said, way overpriced. It's a pub after all

Staff were lovely though. I wouldn't go back again, but only because of the ridiculous prices

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ritchie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch at the Fatted Calf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great food and plenty of it, will definitely drop in next time I am closeby. We are glad we booked in advance too as the place was packed, and understandably so.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TomK316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rip off ireland in full effect!!!! Dont bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Just had food here and I have to say it wasnt great. We said we were in a hurry when asked if we had a reservation all but two tables were empty anyway so it wasnt busy ... its a pub not a 5 star dining experience .. we skipped starter's and both ordered sirloin steaks .. 45 mins later our steaks arrived no explanation nothing ... people arrived later than us were getting there food all around us... three chips and one small bowl of veg accompanied the steaks .all for the fine price of 27 euro each ! These prices are unreal service was bad and all in all I wouldn't bother again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattedCalfManager, Owner at The Fatted Calf Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We asked if you had a reservation, because all other tables were reserved in the following 1/2 hour or hour, and we need to ensure that all of our customers are allocated their table at their required reservation time. All of our food is cooked to order, and a well done sirloin steak will take up to 30 - 35 minutes to cook. All of our food is carefully sourced, and we can ensure traceability and quality. Our main courses start at €16 and prices are clearly listed on the menu. We do offer a supper menu which is 2 courses €20 or 3 courses €25 Tuesday to Friday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Excellent food with great service, second time going and will be back for more.. Valentines set menu had a very good selection, it was great value, with champagne to start and a lovely shot to finish. both of out meals were cooked to perfection with such interesting flavours that would leave your mouth watering and wanting more. it was very cosy with a romantic ambience, but what really made it was the warm and friendly staff they are worth there weight in gold, so obliging and helpful. We traveled an hour to get to the fatted calf and it again was well worth the drive. I recommend everyone to try this amazing little resturant because it is a little gem in my eyes just outside Athlone

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatreaHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fatted Calf Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Glasson, Athlone
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to The Fatted Calf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing