We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,clean and friendly. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shannonside House B&B
Ranked #1 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice,clean and friendly. ”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I had two nights here. good nights sleep,Friendly service, good breakfast. (Thanks for getting up early for my breakfast).
Lovely place to visit, 10 min walk to town, so nice and quite.
Large hotel over the road if you fancy a drink/food closer to b&b.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    37
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
68
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in Shannonside B&B St Patrick's Weekend on my own, excellent room, very friendly staff, lovely breakfast, parking, near town, everything you need at a reasonable price. Very accommodating. I'd recommend to anyone,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is an absolute gem of a place to stay! Everything was picture perfect. It's only a 10 minutes away from Athlone town centre. Nice, Clean room. Sumptuous breakfast. Lovely hosts. A perfect place to stay in the midlands.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmonHaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at Shannonside for one night, for a family wedding. The rooms were cozy, with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The owners were very generous regarding check in time, and the Irish breakfast was to die for! Its central location, value for money, and friendly hosts make it a lovely quality bed and breakfast. I would visit again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for a night in this bed and breakfast close to a convention in the Shamrock Lodge hotel. It is a five minute walk. Spotless room, excellent breakfast and very pleasant hosts made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nepp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've just spent a few days in this guest house and it is absolutly beautiful. Lovely house, beautifully decorated, freshly prepared food, friendly host and hostess. Within walking distance of bars, restaurants, etc. Couldn't ask for better.
Highly recommended
Phil

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDub2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magheralin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night on 27/07/2013. Very clean and tidy. Had all amenities we needed. Close to the main areas. 5 minute walkj to Sean's Bar.
Breakfast was good and service was excellent.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flomcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
1.6 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
2.5 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannonside House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannonside House B&B

Property: Shannonside House B&B
Address: Westlodge Road | Battery Road, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannonside House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Bed and Breakfast in Athlone which is in the centre of Ireland. Explore the local lake and countryside from here or just break your journey to and from Dublin Airport. 90 minutes from airport and enjoy your first or last night of you vacation without the hassle of city parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shannonside House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing