We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 12:30 AM
Review Highlights
Hidden Treasure

Sean's Bar is one of Ireland's hidden treasures. If you are traveling to Ireland, be sure to... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
OKWorldTraveler923
via mobile
Sean’s Bar

Great Fun, great Guinness, totally worth seeking out the oldest pub in Ireland. Highly recommend... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chris E
via mobile
Read all 1,160 reviews
  
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveler rating
746
313
63
12
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
746
313
63
12
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in ireland great atmosphere beer garden the pub live music pint of guinness smoking area irish coffee friendly staff great guinness open fire saturday night great night few drinks old style visiting athlone definitely worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

There were loud louts, smoking in an enclosed space, drunks shouting and music that was extremely loud and inappropriate.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Muircheartach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019

What the pretty pictures don't tell you is the overly aggressive bouncers and the rude staff. Went there with 6 friends, we are all in our sixties. Refused to serve us because there were too many of us,.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

We are driving thru Atlhlone and found Ireland’s oldest pub, and the world’s longest running pub Sean’s. Excellent hospitality and Craic. Nice whiskey that they will be exporting to US soon.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank IGetArounnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

On our drive from Dublin to Galway, we just had to stop at Sean's Bar in Athlone since it's the oldest bar in Ireland (I think it's recently received the status of oldest bar in Europe, but not 100% sure).

So we made a pitstop.

It's so cute on the outside and it's such a traditional pub on the inside. It was early, so we were the only customers. Even for being so quiet, the fire was blazing in the fireplace.

We sipped on Sean's Bar's own proprietary whiskey, which is absolutely delicious. So good in fact, we bought 3 bottles to bring home!

The barkeep was happy to chat with us and share the history of the bar, which in itself is fascinating.

If you're ever in Ireland, with a car, take the detour. Stop here. It's fun and such a piece of history!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ahbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

A very famous spot that I've finally managed to grab a bite in! Athlone isn't a big tourist target but if you are this way this is definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank baldandbeautiful666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews