We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 12:30 AM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveler rating
841
337
69
14
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
841
337
69
14
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest pub in ireland great atmosphere beer garden live music the pub pint of guinness smoking area irish coffee friendly staff great guinness open fire saturday night great night few drinks old style visiting athlone definitely worth a visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019

What the pretty pictures don't tell you is the overly aggressive bouncers and the rude staff. Went there with 6 friends, we are all in our sixties. Refused to serve us because there were too many of us,.

Date of experience: March 2019
3  Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

We are driving thru Atlhlone and found Ireland’s oldest pub, and the world’s longest running pub Sean’s. Excellent hospitality and Craic. Nice whiskey that they will be exporting to US soon.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank IGetArounnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

On our drive from Dublin to Galway, we just had to stop at Sean's Bar in Athlone since it's the oldest bar in Ireland (I think it's recently received the status of oldest bar in Europe, but not 100% sure).

So we made a pitstop.

It's so cute on the outside and it's such a traditional pub on the inside. It was early, so we were the only customers. Even for being so quiet, the fire was blazing in the fireplace.

We sipped on Sean's Bar's own proprietary whiskey, which is absolutely delicious. So good in fact, we bought 3 bottles to bring home!

The barkeep was happy to chat with us and share the history of the bar, which in itself is fascinating.

If you're ever in Ireland, with a car, take the detour. Stop here. It's fun and such a piece of history!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ahbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

A very famous spot that I've finally managed to grab a bite in! Athlone isn't a big tourist target but if you are this way this is definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank baldandbeautiful666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

Still trying to wrap my mind around age of the location and standing the test of time. And when in Ireland for my 1st time and to experience my first Guinness at SEAN's Bar is one heck of an experience. Be sure to stop in and relax with a Pint in hand.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank kdsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews