We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always excellent”

Kin Khao Thai Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Kin Khao Thai Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Thai cuisine, local style. That's local Thai not dumbed down Western style. Our great food, service and local beers and wines are waiting for you. Looking forward to seeing you.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

i have eaten here 3 times and it has always been excellent. staff are very frienly and more than willing to help with your menu choice. if i lived nearer to athlone i would eate here all the time. i highly recommend a trip.

1  Thank kinsella28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really do appreciate them. We try always to do our very best and each review we get I print and display for our staff. So a big THANKS from them in advance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 495 of 600 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

The best meal experience I have ever had. The food was lovely , although a little bit expensive It has a vast menu to chose from, and the lovely waiting staff have good knowledge of what is on the menu,staff very friendly the young fella was great to our little kids . Its location is close to town center, great experience we will be back soon. Tracey M.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

As I now reside in Athlone, I try to vary our nights out as best we can. Located near the busy bars (Seans Bar, The Castle Inn & The Snug) on the west of the Shannon this Restuarant is my favourite in town. There is just something really nice about it. I love to tell friends about the front facade that seems close to collapse, but has obviously been that way for a century. I'm partial to Asian food anyway, and have never had a bad meal here. A nice selection of exotic beers is a nice touch too. It also doubles as a take away, which I have used often, But the take away does not effect the restaurant vibe. Great stuff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wyldwyll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Hello. Thanks alot for the lovely review. I appreciate you coming to Kin Khao Thai and taking the time to write. We are not perfect but we always try and give all customers the best of food and service. Thanks again. Adam Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have eaten in this establishment many times in the past and the food has always been nice. it has been maybe a year or more since we got the chance to visit again which we did on the 18/11/12. We left feeling discused and quite frankly ripped off. What we ordered: one Paneang curry with out rice €16.95. One Massaman Curry with out rice €17.95. One Jasmine rice €2.00 and one Brown rice €2.00. One Spring roll €6.50.

BOTH currys were presented not as discribed on the menu. When this was pointed out to the waiter he just said the menu was wrong! The first curry contained chicken and green beans that was it. The second curry contained chicken and onion, that was it. It also appeared that both curries were made using the same base. Both were the same colour and consistancy and tasted identical apart from the first one was slightly spicy. With both dishes costing arounf €20 each for chicken and sauce is discraceful. Should the food have been as discribed and was presented fresh a flavoursome then one would forgive these hugely inflated prices. Besides the very dissapointed main courses the Spring roll starter arrived only just warm with one of the spring rolls completely cold on the inside. How this was achieved is not clear as one would assume that all spring rolls on the plate were cooked at the same time and in the same way!
Also asked what type of water they sold and was informed that the only one they sold was Celtic Pure. Being that I personally do not like the taste of that particular brand of water I declined to order one but also the fact that they are charging hansomely for one of the cheapest brand of waters on the market says it all about this once nice establishment.
The restaurant was not busy and there should have been no excuse for such poor food.
When we expressed our concerns to another member of staff while leaving the building we were responded to with a 'ok'. That was it.
So, if you want poor food at expensive pre ressiosn prices served by non caring staff who blame the incorrest menu be sure to visit Kin Khao, your sure to leave hungry, frustrated and broke....enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank silenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were so excited to visit Athlone and get to try this restaurant. Having been to Thailand early last year we have been trying to find a good Irish Thai restaurant that can replicate the food. We went on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was busy which was a good sign. We both enjoyed our starters of Chicken satay and squid salad. However the main courses were a let down, duck was fatty and chewy and the Red chicken curry was very mild - so different to Thailand. Disappointed overall and we wouldn't return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jencal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hello I posted a reply to you recently but have noticed it did not go up. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. Our duck is usually excellent. We have used the same same supplier for many years and we rarely get fatty duck. However there are rare occasions when this does happen. This is what happens when everything is fresh, natural, local and made to order. It would have been helpful if you had mentioned this when you were eating or at some other stage of the night. To walk away and not say anything until you get to TripAdvisor is not really fair to the restaurant. We are not given a real right of reply or the opportunity to correct the mistake.

With regard to your curry. A Thai red curry is not supposed to be hot. Perhaps not as mild as you are describing but again we were given no chance to correct this either. Perhaps when you are next in a restaurant and you are not happy with something you might be alittle braver and mention it to the manager. Every business makes mistakes, it is how mistakes are rectified is the real test of any business. Unfortunately we were never extended that opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kin Khao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Kin Khao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing