We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Christmas party night”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Dear Caroline/Edel,

I wanted to say thank you very much, my mam, dad, the whole family had an absolute fabulous night on Saturday. Everything was perfect.

In particular the quality of the food was exceptional. Ordinarily at large group functions the food and service dips however we were so impressed at the quality, diversity on the menu and the service was really good. The small details mattered. The servings were huge and everything was piping hot. Requests for gravy etc were brought to the table instantaneously.

My mam was upgraded to a really nice room in the tower and she was really impressed. It added to the occasion. I thought all of the rooms were both stylish and very comfortable.

The Leisure centre is an added bonus with great facilities.

This is the second time our family have attended your Christmas party nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Superb value for what is included.

Every year for the last 15 years our family have done a Christmas party night, the party night at the Sheraton Athlone was by far superior and it stands out from the rest for quality and value. It felt like a 5 star event.

We looked for a Manager the next day to thank him personally.

I would highly recommend the Christmas party nights at the Athlone Sheraton.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and pleasant. You could tell there was someone behind the event with stellar organisational and emotional intelligence skills.

Wishing you all a very Happy Christmas and a prosperous, happy, healthy New Year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DessieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear “Dessie D”
On behalf of the management and associates here at the hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback at our weekly meeting.

I was delighted to read that Caroline, Gavin, Nigel and their team provided such a wonderful service for you and your family and we are very grateful to you for having chosen The Sheraton Athlone as a venue for your special occasion.

Our Sheraton Christmas Party nights having been going from strength to strength each year and it is very kind of you to describe it as a five star event. As you quite rightly say the little details matter and we are lucky to have a team in our banqueting department who are professional and conscientious to our guests in exceeding their expectations each night.

Once again thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope to see you and your family back at The Sheraton Athlone very soon.

Wishing you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year from all at The Sheraton Athlone.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Like other reviews we found the hotel had great location,comfortable beds in large rooms, friendly staff,great breakfast selection and free underground parking. Would recommend checking room rates for special offers which enticed us to Athlone for a break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear “Hawkeye527”,
Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation packages to offer good value and we are delighted to have our 2014 Winter Room Sale available now and offering some fantastic rates online.
It was a great pleasure to share your comments with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback. We are very fortunate to have a team of associates and management who are focused on exceeding our guest’s expectations with a genuine and friendly service and it is very kind of you to recognize their efforts.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed in mid December and must say despite hotel having large Christmas functions to attend to, the stay was a really pleasant surprise. Very good value for top quality hotel, rooms are really well kitted out and very clean and ultra modern.

Rooms are seriously quiet even for a busy time.

Very central location and good facilities on site

Only slight issue might be distance from reception to tower rooms, but that's just picky and the rooms when you get to them make up for walk.

Strongly recommend

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank OffalyPk1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear “OffalyPK1973”,

On behalf of myself and the team I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our bedrooms. Our bedrooms have been designed to ensure that our guests are well protected from the hustle and bustle of the party season and thank you for mentioning this in your review. When combined with The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed this is certainly an area where we have been receiving some wonderful feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to read that you will recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and to say we were impressed is an understatement. Why? 1 Large rooms. 2 Huge comfortable bed.
3 Great bar food. 4 Our meal that evening was fantastic. 5 Sheraton staff.
So often you will get a good hotel and average staff or visa versa. But the Sheraton Athlone has it all. Honestly, the staff at the hotel were the best we have come across.
The hotel is so easy to get to,plenty of parking,right in the centre of Athlone. We will most definitely return next year for a visit. One last thing,their breakfast is second to none. A four star hotel that puts some five star hotels to shame.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bernard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear “Bernard M”,

It is wonderful to read such positive feedback about your stay and I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your time with us.

I was delighted to share your feedback with the team and we were extremely proud to read that our team were one of the best you have encountered. We are very fortunate to have a team who take great pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations with a genuine friendly service and you are very kind to recognize this in your review.

Our sincere thanks to you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying here and I would recommend it. Overall it was an enjoyable stay. On the plus side - we had food in the bar and it was good. The rooms are modern and well designed, similar to the rest of the hotel. The staff are friendly. The parking is free and very handy being part of the main shopping centre in town. Not really minuses but worth keeping in mind - the bath towels were not the biggest, the 2 toilet rolls beside the toilet were nearly empty but there was a new roll on a shelf, the vegetarian options for food at the bar were limited but the food was good. Overall though a good value for money enjoyable stay and I'm sure we'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TheMcGuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed here 3/4 times now.every time check in and out is friendly efficient and just as it should be. Car park is so easy and free. Rooms are great, clean and very comfortable. I will stay again and recommend to anyone needing to stay in Athlone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I just want to say that we stayed at the Sheraton Athlone on Friday last and it was a very positive experience .We were treated so well there,the staff were so very friendly, helpful and the food and facilities top notch ! It was the most comfortable bed I have experienced in any Hotel in ages.The atmosphere was so relaxing and as it was party season the mood on Friday night was electric on arrival and it was so nice to see so many enjoying themselves.The location so near to the town centre and Shopping Centre. All in all, I cannot praise the Hotel and our experience there highly enough !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $85 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing