We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend a break to Athlone”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommend a break to Athlone”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 nights b&b with 1 dinner here. Had never been to Athlone before so a bit apprehensive. When I phoned hotel to book the girl I spoke to was v encouraging and even threw in a boat trip on the Shannon. She invited me to take an upgraded room however as this was an impromptu break with budget in mind I though I would wait Nd see what rooms were like. When we arrived we found hotel easily enought and got parked. Got allocated room on 3rd floor and we were disappointed with it. It was dark and also a bit shabby. We felt it smelt like someone had smoked in it although we were assuepred it was a non smoking room. I phoned down to reception and immediately Gavin from guest relations came and showed us 3 rooms in the tower. Folks do not delay take the upgrade. No comparison. Views were amazing. Thanks to dan and Gavin for amazing and prompt service when they saw we were not happy with room.

Meal in restaurant at nit was ok just. Certainly not amazing but couldn't have complained. Harvest cafe was really good during day and we visited it twice.

Bring your hat if you want to swim as that cost us 2 euro each. Spa was lovely.
Other than that we had an amazin break and would thoroughly recommend Athlone.

Best bits for us was the complimentary boat trip with Mike on his Viking cruise.. It was amazing!! Thanks guys!

Loved Athkone town. Typical Irish town pubs music craic Nd plenty to see, all on the beautiful setting of the Shannon.

I would recommend.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crowsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear “Crowsfoot”

It was a great pleasure to read your review and to share it with the team here at the hotel. We are genuinely delighted to read that you found the service from Gavin and Dan to be excellent. Both have been members of our management team for several years and regularly receive compliments for exceeding our customer’s expectations.

I do apologise that you found your first room to be of a standard which you were disappointed with and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your feedback if you had the opportunity to contact me on generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

I am delighted to read that found Athlone and it’s setting on The Shannon to be enjoyable and that you enjoyed visiting Ireland’s Lakelands during your time here.

We hope to welcome you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    484
    150
    44
    25
See reviews for
374
727
53
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night at the Sheraton. Took an upgrade to a room with floor to ceiling windows. Air conditioner struggled a bit with the unexpected heat spell. Room was very quiet at night however. Staff were very accommodating and meal in the bar excellent. Would recommend the higher tower rooms even though you take three lifts from the car park. Car parking is included. Just ask for your ticket to be validated when you check out. Buffet style breakfast was good fare.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank XOX140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear “XOX140”

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide a review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you found the team to be accommodating and the food offering in our Sheraton Bar to be excellent. It was a pleasure to share this feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone should the opportunity arise in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had our wedding at the Sheraton Athlone in July this year. From the time we booked our wedding the previous year, the hotel wedding team were fantastic to us and were beyond helpful. The day itself was fantastic, from the arrivals reception on the roof top garden to the beautiful Hoey Suite and the amazing food, we had a really super day. The staff were excellent and very friendly on the day to all our guests, the bedrooms are lovely, very comfortable and airy, and the hotel itself is modern and immaculately kept.

We had a good few quests stay over for a few nights at the hotel as they were travelling and they have all said how amazing the hotel was and how great and helpful the staff were, they all thoroughly enjoyed their stay and have said they would definitely return to the Sheraton Hotel. We honestly could not recommend this hotel highly enough to anyone thinking of a stay over in Athlone or indeed anyone planning a wedding in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davinam612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Davina and Eoin,

It was great to read such wonderful feedback in your review and on behalf of myself and the team I would like to thank you for choosing The Sheraton Athlone as your wedding venue.

It was an absolute pleasure to look after you both and we are very proud to know that you would recommend our hotel following your wedding with us. I am delighted that you found your special day to be so memorable and we hope that you will have many more wonderful memories throughout your life together.

Everyone here in the hotel sends their regards and were delighted to receive your great feedback at our weekly meeting.

Once again, thank you for choosing The Sheraton Athlone Hotel for one of the biggest occasions of your lives and I am glad that we helped to make the day special for you and your families.

All the best for now.

Johnny

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santpoort
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived before check in time on a busy Saturday afternoon but our room was ready and we were immediately given our key. Reception staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Our deluxe room was in the tower, 8th floor, room 461, with a beautiful view over the Shannon River. Floor to ceiling windows allowed a wonderful panoramic view. The room design was perfect with enough space and storage for everything and the small fridge (the only room on our Ireland tour that had one) was handy. The king size bed was super comfy, the large bathroom had a good size shower stall and a separate tub. The soundproofing was excellent, the hotel was full and we were situated right next to the elevator and did not hear a thing. The A/C worked well.

The hot and cold breakfast buffet was excellent and the evening we had dinner in the bar the food was very good. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful, in a genuine way. We ordered a bucket of ice for the room, this was promptly delivered and shortly thereafter reception called to make sure that we had received it.

The location is excellent with the shopping center complex at your feet and the distilleries at Kilbeggan and Tullamore very near. If you visit the distilleries on a Sunday, keep in mind no tasting or purchases can be made before noon. Near Tullamore we came across Charleville Castle which is in the process of being restored by volunteers. It is certainly worth a visit.

The Sheraton Athlone is an excellent hotel and we would definitely return when in the area. In fact we would drive out of our way to stay here again.

Room Tip: A deluxe room in the tower is good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJinHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Better late than never but we stayed a few weeks back for a wedding and couldnt fault the place. Firstly staff were brilliant, helped with a couple of issues. Food was so good at the wedding itself. Let us sleepon a bit late too. Cant beat a well run hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife & i stayed here last weekend. We wer v happy with the hotel & wer v happy with our experience of the hotel & athlone itself. The hotel decor was v nice & modern looking. The bed was one of the most comfortable ive slept on & the bathrooms wer probably the best we have had in standard rooms. The hotel location was perfect for us - right in the centre of athlone. There was 2 weddings during our stay but noise was not an issue. The gym/fitness area was well equipped & the pool was excellent. Staff were friendly. My only issue was that they tried to charge us for breakfasts which were paid for at the time of booking. This was resolved when i showed them my confirmation email. Accidents will happen & it in no way spoiled our stay. We plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymackenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We traveled down for a Saturday night and there were 4 of us. We took a room only rate and really enjoyed the night. It is located within the new Athlone Town centre complex so its perfect it some want to pop to the shops and others want to enjoy the pool. We never heard a peep from our rooms even thought the hotel was very busy. Only 1 slight thing was our A/C in one of the rooms wasn't working correctly but the Manager was very apologetic about it and these things can happen, it didn't take away from our stay and all of the staff very very helpful and very friendly... We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygal757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,011 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing