We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great town”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great town”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife & i stayed here last weekend. We wer v happy with the hotel & wer v happy with our experience of the hotel & athlone itself. The hotel decor was v nice & modern looking. The bed was one of the most comfortable ive slept on & the bathrooms wer probably the best we have had in standard rooms. The hotel location was perfect for us - right in the centre of athlone. There was 2 weddings during our stay but noise was not an issue. The gym/fitness area was well equipped & the pool was excellent. Staff were friendly. My only issue was that they tried to charge us for breakfasts which were paid for at the time of booking. This was resolved when i showed them my confirmation email. Accidents will happen & it in no way spoiled our stay. We plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymackenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    496
    154
    45
    26
See reviews for
384
747
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We traveled down for a Saturday night and there were 4 of us. We took a room only rate and really enjoyed the night. It is located within the new Athlone Town centre complex so its perfect it some want to pop to the shops and others want to enjoy the pool. We never heard a peep from our rooms even thought the hotel was very busy. Only 1 slight thing was our A/C in one of the rooms wasn't working correctly but the Manager was very apologetic about it and these things can happen, it didn't take away from our stay and all of the staff very very helpful and very friendly... We'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happygal757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great stay at Sheraton. Hotel is perfect for a quick getaway. Right in the centre of Athlone adjoining the new Town Centre shopping centre. Pool and fitness centre also great, and not too busy. Seemed to be a good few local members which would endorse it further. Lunch in the cafe was inexpensive and tasty and the hotel is a quick walk down to the main nightlife area (Sean's Bar, The Snug etc). The weekend we were there we didn't have time to use all the activities such as complimentary boat trip and watersports. Will be back! Also while in Athlone i'd recommend Thyme Restaurant.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are huge and modern, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProxyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of nowhere. It was great stop for us travelling from Galloway to Dublin. Really nice restaurant, we got huge upgraded room, bathroom was also great and huge. Absolutely perfect hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrtravelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this excellent Hotel on 9th - 11th July and have nothing but praise for Hotel and Staff. We booked the "Total Family Package" which included our Meals, Kids Club and a complimentary Boat Trip for ourselves and our two Children. Family Room was modern and spacious and included a mini Fridge and air conditioning which we could regulate ourselves. Food was excellent, Staff extremely Friendly especially, Tasha, Deirdre, Raj and Dan ( i think hes called , Tall guy worked in bar with Raj on 9/7) . Overall we found our mini "Staycation" to the Sheraton and Athlone extremely good value for money and cant wait for a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aisling12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear “Aisling12”,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us.
I am delighted to read that you found our Total Family Package to offer good value. Our Sheraton Adventure Club is receiving a wonderful response again this year. The various complimentary activities both here at the hotel and in the surrounding Lakelands and Waterways have also been the source of hugely positive feedback also and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your cruise on The Shannon.
I look forward to sharing your feedback with Natasha, Deirdre, Raj and Dan along with the rest of the team at our weekly review of guest correspondence. We are very fortunate to have a team who are dedicated to providing a genuinely friendly service and you are very kind to recognize this on Tripadvisor.
Thank you once again for your review and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding in June. Staff at check-in were lovely and remembered us for the rest of our stay. Stayed in a family room, very spacious. Food fantastic at dinner. Very convenient for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladydaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear “Ladydaly”,
On behalf of myself and the team I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide such a positive review. Your opinion is very important to us and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
In particular you were complimentary that the staff remembered you throughout your stay. It is our goal to create a memorable and personal experience for every guest in the hotel and I am delighted that you found this to be the case. It was a pleasure to share your positive feedback with Grainne, our accommodation manager and the food and beverage teams in relation to the quality of the dinner offering and family bedrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have family home from Australia and after a disappointing stay in a hotel in Galway we stopped here for the night on the way home. They were blown away by the hotel, staff, everything. They loved it and said they next time they visit Ireland they'd like to stay here longer. I forgot how much we liked it too since our last visit and I've booked a weekend for September. Fantastic hotel, great size rooms, great staff, fantastic location, this hotel shows how it should be done. Keep up the great work.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liked_copper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear “Liked_copper”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review of your experiences at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I am delighted to read that you have recommended us to your family and that you will be staying with us again. We are very appreciative of your custom.
In particular you are very complimentary of the staff and the bedrooms, probably the most important aspect of any hotel experience, and it was a great pleasure to share this feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O'Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,070 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing