We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly excellent - dinner a little disappointing”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent - dinner a little disappointing”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for one night - check in very efficient and quick, room on 2nd floor was lovely, swimming pool and facilities excellent - all really nice and great value. It lost points for me in the dining room both evening meal and breakfast not up to high standard expected. Breakfast was buffet, not hottest and service slow; Morning cup of tea is served from a large pot, I would prefer my own pot - took three requests before getting the tea! My choice of fish for dinner was not good and two other who had same meal said the same. We didn't complain as part of large group and thought best not to dampen the atmosphere!!

Room Tip: Best to look for Tower room but may be more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPBrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
371
715
53
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we first made contact with the Sheraton ,about hosting our wedding reception we knew we had found the perfect Hotel,All the Staff were fantastic very helpfully and Kind.
Our Wedding Co-ordinator (Gavin McGuire) was so helpfully in helping us organize our big Day there was nothing that he couldn't organize for us both he was a great Co-ordinator,even on the day he was working so hard for us and our guests.
The food is just out of this world ,everyone of our guests said they liked the food ,
We enjoyed the food tasting session we had before the wedding ,and meeting there head chef after ,very helpfully indeed.
Our bedroom was one of the highlights of the day ,its worth having your wedding there just so you can stay in that room .The view is wonderful and is perfect for some photos.
All we can is you won't regret booking the Sheraton Hotel. 5 stars from us .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timandanne1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Anne and Tim,
It was a pleasure to share your review with the team and I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate you both once again and to wish you both a very happy life together from everyone here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Thank you on Gavin’s behalf for your wonderful feedback, and I am delighted to read that he added to your enjoyment of this special occasion.
Our Bridal Suite is one of the areas which receives hugely positive feedback and it is great to read that you enjoyed this so much. We look forward to welcoming you in one of the days and please give us a call in advance and we can arrange for you to take a trip up the 10th floor to enjoy the views once again.
Once again thank you for choosing to share your day with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny
Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manager
Sheraton Athlone Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for lovely break. Staff very accomadating. Great location. So convenient for shopping. Lovely leisure centre, baby chair in shower, clever and convenient. Very impressed overall.would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasheils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very well situated hotel in the centre of Athlone incorporated in a shopping centre so you only have to park your car in the ample available car park space book in and then shop. You can walk back to your room with all your purchases. Lovely, friendly coffee shops are also located in the centre and also direct access to the hotel's bars and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent with a very varied menu, staff pleasant and helpful, and ambience restful. The rooms in the tower are spacious and if you choose the executive lounge option you will be well pleased with what's on offer. As well as the usual tea, coffee, soft drinks and snacks, there are canapes and wine available 5.30 to 7.30 daily.

Room Tip: pay extra for the executive tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just to set out how we got here, we bought a voucher in a newspaper auction last October, it seemed too good to be true, approx 120 euro 2 nights b&b and dinner on 1 night, plus a 30 euro voucher to spend in the Spa, Dining Room or Shopping Centre, sounds too good?
We were at a loose end St. Patrick's Weekend and remembered the voucher, although not for use at weekends or bank holidays The Sheraton honoured it. So off we went.
Athlone is a little over and hour from Dublin so we checked in around 4 p.m. Nice standard room in the Tower, not difficult to get to as other previous posts have mentioned. We booked our Dinner for the evening, had a little walk around Athlone even though it was very cold, back for a rest before dinner. We were put beside a large family table celebrating a birthday, no problem with that but due to the noise maybe we should have been offered a table elsewhere in the large dining room, we did ask to move and it was no problem. We had a very enjoyable dinner and after dinner drinks in the bar, there was live music as it was St. Patrick's Night.
Great selection for breakfast in the morning, very good service. Had a great day out with a trip to Clonmacnoise which is well worth a visit and a late bar lunch in Wineport Lodge. Back to The Sheraton and down to the Spa, great pool, Jacuzzi, etc., nearly had the place to ourselves.
Should have used it on Sunday as well but that was our fault.
Not much else to say other than we had a great 2 day break, would recommend The Sheraton and would not expect to get this deal again, but if we did!

Room Tip: Maybe a room facing the river would have been nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briandublin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Myself, my wife and two year old stayed at the Sheraton recently and from the moment we arrived to the time of our exit we had a wonderful experience. We were greeted by Natasha at reception with the warmest welcome. She was very helpful and informative and good craic too :). We stayed in a King room on the second floor. The first thing that hit me was the cleanliness of the room and the en suite - it was spotless. Lovely walnut adorns the decor with space utilised effectively. The room had a separate temp control which made it very comfortable. We had lovely fresh food in the bar before we headed for the swimming pool. Clean facilities here too and there is a very handy locker system in place so no more having to bring a euro coin to the dressing rooms.

Later that night we had dinner in the restaurant. I had a duck starter which was delicious - lovely sweet redcurrant reduction. The main course of venison was equally of a high standard and cooked rare just the way I like it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive to our needs, especially our two year old who had a mini meltdown :)

The breakfast is four star quality with a great selection of fruit, cereals, cheeses, cold meats, as well as hot breakfast buffet.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. Parking is complimentary and there is a great shopping centre in the same building as the hotel which we found very convenient.

We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212 which is facing a courtyard and was very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeitrimLaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would just like to say a massive thank you to the wonderful staff in the reception/restaurant/bar and spa, the great service, the amazing food and the wonderful treatments. My sister Jean had a fantastic hen and all of the girls couldn't say enough nice things about the hotel and the evening we had. I would definitely recommend the place to family and friends and hopefully I will be back some day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing