We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning Hotel”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Check in was fantastic, Staff were fantastic - lovely and friendly and helpful all the time, Food was delicious, right in the centreof the town near everywhere and for those shopaholics like us - big huge shopping centre with all the big shops right underneath the hotel just take the lift down to the Harvest cafe and there you go :) in the centre of the town also so just walk out to the rest of the shops and restaurants and bars! :) Definately will be back again :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRISHGAL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay, bed was the most comfortable ever, great to see the staff doing a great job and all seemed very happy, music in the bar was an added bonus, pub & restaurant down the road finished off our night beautifully. Would recommend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location with complimentary parking. The staff were helpful at the front desk. The room was a good size as was the bathroom. The breakfast has a good selection and friendly table service.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somewhere62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear “somewhere62”,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
I am delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful and friendly and I look forward to sharing your feedback with Dan, Juraj and their teams in the front office and La Provence Restaurant.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arrived at 11pm very tired but check in was fantastic, such a good start to my stay. Rooms are very spacious with very comfortable bed ( brilliant pillows). Bathroom with separate shower. Tea/coffee making with take away cups available, never seen this before. Free wi-fi throughout hotel. Good selection at breakfast. Food in bar is excellent, worth having the soup just to get the brown bread! Staff in bar (only 1person) although under serious pressure were very friendly. Didn't get to use the pool but did have a treatment which is definitely worth a visit. Every part of the hotel I was in was spotless. Staff are an absolute credit to this hotel. Just wish I had more free time to spend in the hotel.
Free underground safe car park.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avril S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear “Avril S”,

On behalf of myself and the team here at the hotel I would like to thank you most sincerely for your very kind review.

It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with the team and in particular with Grainne and Anne Marie and their accommodation team who recently had their excellent standards recognized in winning a Gold Standard award from the Irish Accommodation Services Institute.

You are very kind to say that the team are a credit to the hotel, there is no doubt that their genuine dedication to hospitality and professionalism is the reason for our success.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great hotel in super location, free parking, hotel adjoins to shopping center, rooms are spotless and very spacious, good airy rooms, great beds, pillows have been improved, and very comfortable, swimming pool and steam are great especially with the water massagers, we were room only and the hotel has an adjoining harvest cafe into shopping center and food here is lovely and very reasonable. we also went to Sean's bar the oldest pub in Ireland, we had a good pint of Guinness here, worth a visit its down past the castle, we also ate in top deck restaurant just down the street, god value at 10euro for any main except steak Mon - Thurs. we love the Sheraton and will return soon.

Room Tip: first two floors are closest to reception, rooms in tower are further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear “MarieIreland”,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted that you found our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds to be of high standard, we have recently invested in new bed sets throughout the hotel and have been receiving some wonderful feedback.

It is great to read that you enjoyed some of the many fine bars and restaurants here in Athlone and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our Bridge Club; over 40 players stayed 2 nights. The hotel is central in the town, above shopping centre and convenient underground parking. Could put more staff on at night in the bar; otherwise, most enjoyable. Staff were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a very big hotel and ask for room near elevators to cut down walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridgeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear “BridgeDublin”,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and I would like to thank you and your fellow club members for choosing our hotel.

You are very kind to describe the team as courteous and helpful and it was my pleasure to pass this compliment on at our weekly review of guest feedback.

I would be most grateful for the opportunity to discuss any issues you might have encountered in the main bar and our bar manager has also asked that I pass on his apologies. Please do not hesitate to contact me at 0906451000 or at generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com if the opportunity arises.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon and the very best of luck with the bridge in the meantime!

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. We had only one problem, we would have loved to stay for longer. Everything was just perfect, room, bathroom, part of a shopping centre, what more could a girl as for. Staff were very welcoming. Only issue was the service was rather slow in the bar. The breakfast was perfect. It was excellent value for money. We stayed in a family room, which consisted of two large double beds, there was still plenty of room. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyWexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear “LucyWexfordIreland”,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and I would like to thank you for choosing The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

It is great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and I do apologise that you found the service in the bar be somewhat slow. We have had a number of team meetings to review areas where we feel that service speed can be improved upon. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience if you had the opportunity to contact me on 0906451000 or at generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

It is great to read that you found the breakfast quality to offer value for menu and to be of high quality. It is often the final meal our guests enjoy before departure and some would say the most important.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $83 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing