We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all expectations were met!”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not all expectations were met!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had a two night stay recently at the Sheraton in Athlone when I attended a two-day business meeting in the hotel. My expectations were high on arrival, having read many of the excellent reviews. on the Tripadvisor website. Sadly my expectations were not met in their entirety.

On arrival on a busy Sunday at noon, the reception area was thronged with guests checking out. Understandably, there wasn't a room available for me at that point, but my luggage was stored and I went off to browse the town of Athlone until 2pm when I returned to the hotel and was promptly checked in by Emma.

My room was on the second floor facing the rear of the hotel and was very chilly. However, the heating system once turned on quickly brought the room temperature to a comfortable level. The only down side with this type of fan-generated heating is that it is a bit noisy and when you turn it off, the room cools quickly.

There was no guest directory in my room - nor was there a tray with tea/coffee. I rang down to reception and Emma quickly arranged for both to be delivered to my room.

After a rest, I decided to pay a visit to the leisure centre at basement level for a swim. However, there was no one manning the reception desk at the leisure centre and I had to stand there for five minutes waiting for the attendant's return so that I could sign in and get a towel.

The changing rooms are adequate and clean - the power showers are lovely, but there was no liquid soap/shampoo in the first cubicle that I entered.

The pool area is quite small - even though there were only about eight people swimming at that time, space was quite restrictive. The acoustics also make it quite a noisy space when children are present. I was impressed however, with the child safety gate entering the pool area which I am sure parents are appreciative of.

I ordered room service later that evening and it arrived promptly and was warm and tasty. I would say that the Sheraton's best strength is actually the quality of its food - everything I tasted during my stay was to a very high standard indeed and service in the Provence Restaurant was second to none. I would particularly recommend their selection of cheeses and fresh fruit - simply perfection.

The meeting spaces are well laid out and managed and there was always assistance readily available to our working group when required.

Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton for business purposes, but would not be encouraged to return again with a leisure break in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcudiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear “Alcudiafan”,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and would like to thank you in particular for your very kid feedback in relation to our food and the service offering in our Restaurants.

Needless to say we pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations and my sincere apologies that there were aspects where your expectations were not met. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with if you had the opportunity to contact me on 0906451000 or by email at generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com.

I have spoken with Ross, our manager at Sheraton Fitness and we would like to apologise about the delay at the reception desk. There can be occasions where team members are drawn away from the desk, but 5 minutes is unacceptable and we hope you will find a marked improvement in this area should you choose to return.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    477
    146
    42
    24
See reviews for
370
711
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My brother and I stayed in a twin room for 3 nights and found the hotel met all our expectations. As a platinum SPG member I was expecting good service;I was not dissappointed. The staff made the trip for us;thank you guys. the loaction is right in the city centre and quieter than we thought (given all the hen nights and rugby fans).The Breakfast was excellent (try the Irish soft blue cheese....wow)

Room Tip: If you arrive back from the pub in the early hours make sure you have a mobile phone to ring the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear “TimTrish”,

Thank you for your review and in particular I would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for your very kind words. It is always wonderful to know that we have made our guest’s stay unique and memorable, and in particular to read that we have looked after a platinum member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Loyalty Programme. Thank you for your continued custom with Starwood Hotels and Resorts.

Athlone, while sometimes quiet, certainly has a vibrant nightlife and it is well worth trying out some of the fantastic bars and clubs in town. We are very proud to have the oldest bar in Ireland here on the west shore of the Shannon, Sean’s Bar, dating back to 900ad.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast quality, we pride ourselves in offering a tasty and healthy offering. Our Colour Your Plate Programme provides symbols which will help you to choose healthy and nutritious food, but then there is no harm in sometimes treating yourself with a Traditional Full Irish Breakfast while on a break away...

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Firstly best hotel by a mile in Athlone for both families and business, good pool and gym and bar and good breakfast. Rooms are clean ana spacious. Small things bug though - all coat hangers have clips, the desk for check out always understaffed in morning so takes an age. For some reason never more than one on duty in morning do if you're in a rush it's just annoying. Otherwise excellent

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel room was average enough but very clean we got the room on a deal online so good value. Was more impressed with the service in the harvest cafe (part of the hotel), have to say the girls in the deli were brilliant. Especially a girl called Ann who was more than happy to help me with getting a bowl of potatoes and veg for my little one even though I was clearly in the wrong queue. She could see I was struggling with baby and pram etc and offered to drop the food down to my table what an angel :-) the only downside was dealing with who I can only presume was a floor manager as she had a different coloured shirt on to the rest of the staff. I asked could she clear the table for me and was there a child seat available, she said no problem, but never returned :-( didn't get her name but she sounded like she was from northern ireland. Ann arrived with my food and cleared the table while another girl rose got me a child seat :-) great to get this level of service in a very busy place would definitely eat there again :-)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccbensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerlingen
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Needed some time to realize these guys driving on the wrong side (the continent drives on the right side, so it must be wrong ;-)). But after some toll roads/bridges (buy the toll for the bridge already at the airport (Convienient store!)) arrived in the Sheraton and felt very good (driving done and nice personnel!).

Great location, close to city center, parking very convinient, good restaurant, comfortable rooms..

Perfect catch for business around Athlone...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the centre of Dublin it was about a 75 minute drive to the hotel, passing 2 motorway tolls (€1.90 and €2.90).
The hotel is built within a shopping mall in the centre of town. Once you have parked in the underground car park, which is free to guests, you do not feel like you are in a mall as the hotel feels like it is on its own.
The hotel Reception has 3 desks and they were all manned by very professional staff. The rooms are very clean and spacious and if you are in a Tower room then you will get a great view of the river that splits the town. The hotel has free wifi.
The hotel had evening entertainment whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tower room facing the river for a great view of the town. Please note that from the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Sheraton in Athlone would fit better on the Las Vegas Boulevard. You drive your car into an underground parking lot, walk past a shopping mal and go up some elevators before you reach the front desk. The check-in was very "quick quick", being informed that the room has already been charged to the credit card, being given the keys to room 224 and being told "Have a nice stay". Check-in probably took no more than 30 seconds, yet the girl wasn't unpleasant.

The rooms are very luxurious, the beds are comfortable and the quality of the sleep was excellent.

My only problems were the heating (or the lack thereof) and the children at breakfast. What is it with Ireland and the lack of heating in hotel rooms? I put the thermostat to 26° C (maximum) and still felt cold. The glass hallway on the second floor was also freezing cold.

And look: I know that the Irish have a reputation for having too many children. But if I have to have my breakfast surrounded by a kindergarten class, having to listen to screaming brats and having to smell "used diapers", it kind of spoils my appetite.

Apart from that the Sheraton is probably the best hotel in Athlone and I can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing