We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night , lovely room , very modern with great views . Stay in the tower if you can . Food was excellent . A bit hard to find the car park , but the location of the hotel is smack bang in the middle of the town . Would definitely use this hotel agai

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lods1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “Lods1969”

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for choosing to stay with us.

I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest feedback next week.

We are in the process of examining whether any additional signage might make it easier to identify our entry in the car park and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,535 - 1,541 of 2,026 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've stayed in the Sheraton several times over the last few years, exclusively for business reasons. It is a modern hotel with very good facilities, much better than I expected from a hotel in Athlone. The rooms are spacious, staff friendly and there is a decent buffet breakfast available in the morning. it is convenient to the center of Athlone, and directly attached to the shopping center there (which I haven't checked out yet but looks good). I have also eaten in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good also. Overall, its a very good hotel and decent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “Galway Tribe”,

Thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to read that our facilities and service exceeded your expectations. Exceeding our guest’s expectations forms part of our mission statement here at the hotel.

We are very fortunate to have The Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre under the same roof as us here in Athlone. There are a wonderful range of international and national retailers and we are delighted to be able to offer our guests exclusive discounts with them as a resident of the hotel, particularly as we approach the Christmas season and New Year sales.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had to some business to attend to in Athlone so stayed at the Sheraton. The hotel is busy, lots going on, the bar is very busy so expect a bit of a delay when ordering bar food, I had fish & chips with mushy peas and it was quite good. The bar staff are very friendly. The hotel is in the centre of Athlone and co located with a Shopping centre which is very handy if you need anything The bed was very good lots of room, the bathrooom was very clean and the shower, a single point, lashed out the hot water with ample pressure. Breakfast was really excellent with a huge choice of fruit and breads along with the traditional Irish Coronary Special, which is hard to resist. Service was excellent, although I did have to ask the waitress to tidy under the table before I sat down and enjoyed , good coffee, toast and the rest. All in all after my second visit I would recommend this hotel, it doerrs what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “Liam T”,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing such a positive review of your experience with us.

I look forward to sharing it with the team and would like to thank you for taking the time to mention the friendliness of the team in The Sheraton Lobby Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

After a fabulous experience here in February 2012, we happily booked a return visit for an anniversary weekend. Very disappointingly, this visit turned out to be a catalogue of issues. Sadly, things reached a head on our second day and we requested to speak with a Manager. We discussed all our issues with him and he did note them and try to resolve them and we did feel that he took these issues seriously. His aim was for us to leave the hotel satisfied and happy. While we appreciate what he did for us, unfortunately our stay was ruined.

Without going into too much depth, our issues were:

> No safe in the room – however, we did get one when we requested it.
> 3 phone calls to Guest Services and a wait of over 2 hours to get extra pillows.
> A shower that leaked badly onto the bathroom floor.
> The audio system into the bathroom couldn’t be lowered or muted so the TV was louder in the bathroom than in the bedroom itself!
> An information booklet that had numerous large unidentified stains on it.
> A Kettle that leaked.
> No replenishment of the tea, coffee or toilet roll when the room had been serviced.
> We’d to request the “admission ticket” for the River Cruise on our second morning, which was part of the romance package we’d booked but which had not been given to us at check-in the previous day.
> The meal that was included as part of the romance package was very disappointing. Our starters were barely lukewarm and my husband’s steak had to be sent back as it was cold. We complained to both the waitress and the Manager but neither was too interested.
> No update or acknowledgement from Reception when we queried when our room would be serviced – we came back at 2pm and our room still hadn’t been serviced – we called reception as I wanted to lie down but at 3pm, we still hadn’t received a call back – we then went down to speak with a Manager out of frustration.
> A tray with the remains of someone’s meal was sitting outside the room opposite ours from at least 2pm [when we checked in] until after 1am the next morning [when we went to bed] despite two staff members having been in our room and one of them looking directly at the dirty tray.

There were a few positives, which were:

> Good breakfasts with good selections including the nicest brown bread we’ve ever tasted.
> Wonderful bar food.
> Jonathon in the bar, who has such a wonderful manner and attitude, that it makes you want to stay there!

While the Manager did his utmost to try to resolve our issues and to ensure that we were 100% satisfied with his solutions, sadly, we were too disillusioned. We were so looking forward to our weekend away and were so disappointed as it was ruined for us, so much so, that we cancelled a weekend we’d booked in this hotel for February 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Celticcreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “Celticcreation”,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive review of your experience with us.

You are very kind to mention a number of positives, and in particular I look forward to sharing your feedback with Jonathon who typifies the levels of professional and genuinely friendly service which we strive to achieve.

There were several items which you highlighted in your review where we appear to have dropped our standards and I apologise most sincerely once again and thank you for bringing these to our attention. You were kind enough to bring these to our deputy manager, Nigel Canavan’s attention duing your stay and we have started a comprehensive review in order to rectify those areas where our usual standards were not met.

It is most disappointing to read that you have cancelled your stay in February but I do hope that we would have the opportunity to provide you with a quality service should you choose to return in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here in the early summer for a few nights and were quite impressed overall. Customer service is good and the rooms are large and very clean. We ate breakfast both mornings and found this quite good for the price. It would be good however if they could provide cooked eggs to order rather than having to make do with scrambled egg which has been sittting out for quite a while. We also ate in the bar area and found the food to be good and the atmoshpere very lively! (There was a rugby game on the TV).
What lets the hotel down is the Club Lounge. As a platinum member I have seen many starwood hotel lounges and this is by far the worse. There are some snacks available (crisps, biscuits) soft drinks and tea/coffee. Because staff are not there permanently, then dishes and rubbish can pile up. We could not find a bin to put our rubbish in. Also, the soft drinks are not in a fridge and ice is not provided. Come on Sheraton, how much would it cost to put a fridge in the lounge?There were no alcoholic drinks in the evening or hot snacks unlike all other lounges I have been to.
I fell that If you are going to have a lounge then please do it properly or not at all...not a poor excuse.
Overall though this is a really nice hotel and you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkWanderluste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “UkWanderlust”,
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for your repeat custom with Starwood Hotels, as a Platinum Member of our SPG Loyalty Programme.
I am glad to read that you had a relaxed stay and that enjoyed the lively atmosphere and service in our bar.
I do hope that you will find an improvement in the standards of our club lounge on your return, as there are a number of areas which we have been developing in recent months. I have reviewed your feedback on the restaurant breakfast with Kevin and Juraj our chef and restaurant manager. We will ensure that we are making our guests aware of the availability of the service for eggs cooked to order. My apologies in relation to both these items and thank you for bringing them to our attention.
Once again thank you for your feedback and repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

If your thinking of Ireland and need a place to stay and wish to use some SPG points this is a great hotel. Staff are friendly, breakfast included and a basic lounge where at least you can get a glass of wine and some munchies.
Parking and hotel are attached to shopping complex.
Easy access via your own car or bus to many other tourist locations.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank o2bnkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear” o2bnkd”,

It was a great pleasure to read your feedback and to hear that you found that The Sheraton Athlone Hotel caters very well to our guests and to members of our Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty programme. Thank you most sincerely for your repeat custom with our hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone very soon and thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review of your experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We intended to spend one night in Athlone and ended up spending two in no small part because of this hotel. While it did not have the charm of some of the places we stayed it did have a great gym and swimming pool which we enjoyed on a rainy afternoon. The food in both the bar and at breakfast was good and not over priced. It is located right in the center of town with free underground parking. Our room was large as was the bathroom which had separate bath and shower facilities. Two sinks in a large bathroom were nice after a series of charming but alarming small bathrooms.

Athlone itself is worth a stop for while the castle is closed the town itself is thankfully largely tourist free - no tourist trap stores full of junk. You have a feeling that the stores and restaurants cater to the local population which is rather nice. Not that one can't take a cruse on the river Shannon or have a drink in the oldest pub in Ireland but even in the pub the tourists are vastly outnumbered by locals.

A nice town and a very nice Shearton located right in the center with a very helpful staff and all at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jsthouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear “jsthouston”,

I would like to thank you on behalf of myself and all of the team here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel for choosing to stay with us and for providing such a positive review of your experience.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the genuine hospitality of Athlone and it’s businesses and in particular that you found the hospitality to be genuine and shared by locals and visitors alike.

The new interpretative centre in Athlone Castle is due to open in November and promises to be a very entertaining experience. I hope that you have the opportunity to return to visit it and we look forward to welcoming you back then.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $103 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing