We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for a night with my mother and sister for a girls weekend away. Perfect for this. It was a miserable rainy day and we just drove straight into the underground car park for the hotel & shopping centre and got the lift up to the hotel. Checkin in was a little slow but reception just happened to be busy. Room was really nice, the nicest i've stayed in a while. Plenty of room for the three of us. Wished we were staying for more than one night. Just off reception area you get a lift to the shopping centre. The lift comes out in a restaurant which is a little wierd but fine. Great shopping centre and great not to have to go out in the rain. The hotel has a spa which we didn't use but looked very good. Watched a movie in our room €10 for it is a little expensive. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. The breakfast was very nice though. We ate in 'The Olive Grove' down the town for our evening meal and it was gorgeous and real pretty beside the water. Went back to the hotel bar not expecting much but the place was buzzing with lots of other guests and a one man band that was brilliant and lots out dancing. The bar staff were really under pressure but were great. When the bar quietened down they went around getting chairs for everyone. Would def stay here again if i was in Athlone and would recommend it over other hotels in athlone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwaygirlSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management and associates here at the hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback at our weekly meeting.

We are fortunate to have a strong relationship with the Athlone Towncentre Shopping Centre. Our Premium Club discount card is provided exclusively for our guests and receives a lot of positive feedback. As we come into the Christmas season our Shop Stop and Spa special offers have been receiving a lot of interest.

Abdallah and his team in the bar were delighted to read your feedback and I would like to thank you for recognizing their efforts.

I have carried out a full review of the movie pricing on our in room entertainment system and we will be introducing revised special offers in the next few weeks in light of your feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Once again thank you for your review. We hope to see you back at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

I visited Athlone earlier this year and stayed at Sheraton Hotel.Among the good things about this place,its location and the hospitality is definitely worth mentioning first.

It is next to the Athlone town centre,so shopping,public transport,courier services etc are just a step away.Good gym and swimming pool and a very good bar in the lobby which makes you enjoy some good time in the evenings.
Food is good,they could add more asian variety though.

Rooms are nice and spacious and specially if you are a business traveller,you will find the stay very comfortable.It is not overly priced and you can shell out some money for a good stay there.I would recommend to try Irish beer and fish and chips from the menu :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarthakkaushal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. It was a great to read your feedback and to share it with the team here at the hotel.
Our Leisure Club and Bar Management teams were delighted with your feedback and it is good to read that you found our hotel accessible with plenty to do both in and around the hotel.
I have reviewed your feedback with our Executive Chef, Kevin Ward, who is going to review providing a selection of asian dishes as part our specials offered in La Provence Restaurant and our Harvest Café from time to time.
Once again thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed at the Sheraton Athlone over the Oct bank holiday. Well trained & friendly staff. The breakfast is very good. Very central & in the middle of town. The room was large & very clean & quiet despite 2 weddings on over the weekend. We had dinner one night & it was excellent. The leisure centre & gym were also good. Only slight disappointment was that children were allowed to use the jacuzzi & dive into the pool on one occasion while I was there & this really should not be allowed but the hotel was quite busy,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us.
It is great to read that you enjoyed some time with your family while at the hotel. I do hope that the kids had the opportunity to enjoy our Sheraton Adventure Club, The Kid’s Club team have received some great feedback from the mid term break and it seems that all of those who participated really enjoyed themselves.
I have reviewed your feedback with Ross O’Callaghan, our leisure club manager, and we were disappointed to read that the two items you mention had occured during your time in the pool as guest safety is of paramount importance to us.
We have retrained the entire leisure club specifically in those areas and the additional safety standards relating to pool usage. I do hope that this will be an area which you feel we have improved upon should you choose to return.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I've stayed in Athlone on a few occasions on business and had the choice between the Sheaton and Hodson Bay so chose the Sheraton for a change and I was not disappointed. Great facilities, great location of course, great people. Next time I'm in Athlone it'll be the Sheraton without a doubt. Great value too.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback, and I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the team here at the hotel. It was a pleasure to share your feedback with each department at our weekly meetings.
While the Hodson Bay Hotel has a super location on the lake just outside Athlone, it is good to read that the you were not disappointed having chosen The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and that you enjoyed our central location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Where do I start? From start to finish our experience with the Sheraton has been absolutely superb! I cannot find one single fault. Anna, Nigel, Johnny and all the staff have been amazing and nothing was ever too much and they looked after us and our guests exceptionally well. It is refreshing to see such a highly motivated and obliging team who were an absolute pleasure to deal with.
The hotel is gorgeous, modern, and an oasis. The rooms are luxury. I've had several lunches and visits to the hotel and service, food, etc are always excellent.
I would have absolutely no problem in ever recommending The Sheraton Athlone for a wedding, a break away, a fab meal, lunch or simply a cup of coffee and a break from shopping.
Continued success to all in the Sheraton and thanks so much for making our wedding experience amazing!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Dear Michelle and John,
Once again our warmest congratulations to you both, and thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We were extremely pleased as a team to have received your feedback following your wedding and it was a genuine pleasure to have shared it with the various teams around the hotel.
Everyone here sends their regards and we look forward to seeing you back in the hotel soon. If you would be kind enough to ask for me when you have the opportunity to pop in it would be great to say hello again.
All the best for now.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The experience we got was absolutely fantastic. Food was great, staff were very always pleasant, smiling and willing to help. Leisure centre was fantastic - 3 hours flew by... Rooms are very clean and well organised. Great for shopping!
Loved every minute of stay!
Can not recommend it high enough and will definitely be back again!
Jurgita Glodenyte, GoCreate Marketing

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JurgitaGlodenyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Dear Jurgita,
Thank you for your very kind review following your stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
It is great to read that you enjoyed the leisure club following your time in the adjacent Athlone Towncentre shopping centre. While some retail therapy can be relaxing, there is nothing to beat some hydrotherapy to relax the muscles after a trek around the shops.
I was delighted to share your feedback on how clean and well organized the bedrooms were with our Executive Housekeeping Manager, Grainne O’Brien, and her team.
The very best of luck with your future endeavors and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should the opportunity arise.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband and I are just back from a weekend in the Sheraton with another couple and it was excellent - the staff were so helpful and friendly - the best hotel I have been in for a long time. The food was superb and we eat both nights in the hotel - no need to eat out with this excellent standard. The location was perfect. As my friend texed last night "this hotel ticked all the boxes and many more"! My husband had a massage in the spa and I used the leisure facilities and both were excellent with once again very helpful and friendly staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wexfordsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you most sincerely for your wonderful feedback following your stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
I have shared your very kind comments regarding our food offering with our Executive Chef, Kevin Ward, and his team, as well as the teams in La Provence Restaurant and The Sheraton Bar.
Thank you also for making specific mention of the huge efforts put in every day by the staff and management to provide a warm and friendly welcome to every guest, it was a pleasure to share this with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel when you have the opportunity to return.
Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: $83 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing