We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and fantastic staff”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and fantastic staff”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked in for a wedding reception and really enjoyed our stay, the staff were so welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived until we checked out. Everyone had a smile and a friendly greeting and we were asked numerous times if we were enjoying our stay. The room was really comfortable and the breakfast was fab! We had never been to Athlone before but we have a reason to go back now.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missybooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    477
    146
    42
    24
See reviews for
370
711
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I stayed with a ladies group in the Sheraton Hotel w/e Fri 13th May 2011. From the moment we entered the hotel we were met with courteous & helpful staff. They did everything to make our stay comfortable & enjoyable. The Bar Manager Abdalla went out of his way to meet our requests. As did Bala the Night Manager. Well done to both of ye. The one man band in the bar on both nights was just fab, great music, we danced all night. Great Hotel to stay in for Shopping, Relaxing, Cruise on the Shannon, night on the town. This hotel meets ALL needs.. mary C.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huggie103
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Stayed for one midweek night and was very impressed, lovely new clean hotel, good food and the staff went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huggie103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

I was organising a hen party for aprox twenty girls in athlone and got in contact with Karin in the hotel and from that moment on the organisation was stress free! She organised the accommodation, dinner, cocktail making class and a trip to the spa without me having to lift the phone.

When we got there everything was perfect, the service was excellent (the girls even said at one point that there were too many wait staff at dinner!!!) the staff couldnt do enough for us. The spa and pool areas are lovely, immaculately clean and really nicely designed. We also got a discount card for the shopping centre.

Breakfast is served until 11am and is fab and they do a cocktail of the week for €5. They gave us a seperate section in the restaurant so we didn't affect other guests. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathrooms huge.
I couldn't praise the service and the hotel enough. We had a great weekend and will def be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeaghgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at the Sheratone Athlone for two nights. We had a very nice room with a lovely view over Athlone. Everything was very clean, especially the bath. The Spa is excellent, I had a massage-great!! The Fitness Center with the swimming pool is also excellent. The dinner at saturday evening and the breakfast at sunday morning was uninviting- very loud, a lot of people in the hotel. The service was very hectic. But the breakfast at monday morning was very good. They have also a very nice bar with very friendly service. We will come back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koellealaaf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Very clean modern hotel with good facilities and excellent staff. It's the staff that makes this hotel, polite attentive efficient responsive when needed but not intrusive or OTT like some hotels.

Free WIFI works well. Rooms are large and very clean and well maintained. Bed is enormous and very comfortable. (I would have preferred more pillows or deeper pillows).

Gym and pool are excellent too. Food at breakfast was good.

The room rate of eu90 is very good value too. In most European cities you would typically pay 2x the room rate for this level of quality, and still not get free wifi or such well trained and attentive staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

at last... a truly excellent meeting hotel. Sleeping rooms are uncluttered and spacious, food is very good, food service is excellent, conference support is excellent, and the prices are not through the roof. Best of all... no pretentious presentation of food & drink, no obsequious staff.

Location is great (if you are driving, pay close attention to directions since you will approach hotel through the car park). For dinner, you can walk out to a fabulous selection of restaurants.... take 1/2 hour to walk around the pier where you can check the menus and decide which is the most enticing (it will not be easy).

Room Tip: Tower rooms are for travellers without children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusinessSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing