We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DAVID URQHART TOUR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
DUMBARTON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DAVID URQHART TOUR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just returned from a five day trip to Lisdoonvarna and had a wonderful stay in the Imperial Hotel. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them. The waiting staff were brilliant. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    45
    44
    14
    14
See reviews for
15
64
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on a 5 day coach tour of S. West Ireland.We arrived late about 10p.m.The staff was at the door to greet us and usher us into dinner, while the luggage was unloaded and taken up to the rooms.No queue at reception for keys or struggling along long corridors with a case. People were impressed with the modern decor in the rooms with the Gaelic sash across the white bedcover and the new dark carpet.The dining room is well organised with set areas for different groups.The food is is good ,served quickly by the skilled dining staff. We could ,in the evening, walk along the town to visit local pubs or call into the two supermarkets and the outerwear shop.opened late. Dave, musician and singer entertained us in the Matchmaker Bar, part of the hotel.Our room was too small and Reception was helpful and moved us. We found our stay at the hotel comfortable, but we felt the road up the to Lisdoonvarna in the dark a bit stressful.It is known as 'Corkscrew Hill'.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

had a wonderful 5 days lovely hotel with very polite and staff no complaints whatsoever waiters and bar staff very friendly ,especially home if ive spelt it right she,s a gem the location was very good nice quiet town yet full of life and friendly people ,handy for trips to limerick and galway city county clare and your hotel are second to none

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend spent two nights here during the matchmaking festival in September 2013 and I have to say I have never experienced a worse hotel stay. It's grotty, old-fashioned and run down. The staff are all foreign and extremely bad at their jobs bar the man that was on reception on the Saturday. We went for breakfast Sunday morning and the foreign waitress hadn't a clue what I was saying. I asked for a full Irish but it never came, I didn't bother asking her for it again as I tasted some of my boyfriends and it was disgusting. It was also overpriced at 340 for two nights. I have stayed in many hotels in Ireland and worldwide and this hotel is a joke! Avoid it like The Plague!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisdoonvarna hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The food was very good traditional food choices of meat fish or veg the rooms and hotel was very clean could only access the internet in the lounge wish it was available in the rooms and not many tv channels to choose from

Room Tip: Back of the hotel had views of countryside as the front was on the road side the takeaway across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michellel898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was my second stay in five years with two different coach companies. I contacted the hotel a week before to request a quiet room. Unfortunately, on arrival we were allocated a room above the entrance facing the main street. Horror. When I asked the receptionist to move, this was accepted with no problems whatsoever. Our next room faced the back of the hotel with a view across fields, as far as the eye could see - bliss.

The rooms are very outdated but more importantly they are clean. The food is basic but plentiful and tasty. The dining room has many waiting staff from different countries who were very attentive and helpful. Wi-fi is only available in the reception area. Tip - visit the Roadside Tavern which brew their own beers under the name of "Burren Brewery". Much better than Guinness.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roxyviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here during the first weekend of the annual Matchmaking Festival. Needless to say, the town was ''buzzing''.
The Imperial is a nice hotel, nothing fancy. My room was clean and my bed was comfortable. The en-suite was a bit dated and facilities limited (the tiny TV looked 20 years old) however I did enjoy my stay there. It is well located, right in the heart of the village, and a short stroll to a variety of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatORegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.8 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: The Imperial Hotel Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing