We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“holiday”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

not to be recommended, reception staff rude we were put in rooms away from hotel with disco underneath, will not be going back there

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    49
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
17
68
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

If you want to pay 5* prices for 2* accommodation then stay here. We paid €100 for a twin bedded room which had a cold bath tap not working, the sink was coming away from the wall, the bath panel was broken, the bedside lamp was broken and there was a stain on the bed cover. The staff were polite and produced an English breakfast which had obviously been sitting in the kitchen for some time waiting for us and apart from cereal and toast there was no other option. Certainly not worth €100!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaytee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisdoonvarna hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were greeted with a warm smile by a very polite receptionist.The lobby was large with tasteful décor and comfortable soft sofas and chairs.We took the lift to the 1st floor. Our room was quite large with two comfortable beds 1 single 1 double. Plenty of wardrobe space and deep drawers. Tv, hair dryer and tea making facility's were available in our room with irons and ironing boards on every floor. The décor was bright and pleasant. The bathroom was large and airy. The dinning room was large and well laid out. Food was plentiful and very tasty. The waiting staff could not have done more the service was very efficient. The music in the very large bar/lounge was great. Oh a trip to the Cliffs or Moher is a must. I'm sure you will enjoy your stay as much as we did. I was there with my friend and i will go back with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandraoneill63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Went on coach tour with my husband , Ruby Wedding treat. We had great time. The Hotel maybe bit dated, but clean, and service was excellent, I have coeliac disease and thought would have problem there with the food, how wrong I was, most food gluten-free it was super and the waiters & waitresess were very efficient, well done the Imperial.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tulip5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We were part of a bus tour staying for four nights. Our room was clean with a double and single bed, a powerful shower with towels replaced daily.Food was excellent, served by friendly young staff only to willing to be helpfull. Entertainment could have been more varied, but this only a minor niggle as the village is well served with pubs! There is also a bus stop at the village square a few yards from the hotel where we were fortunate enough to discover a marvelous travel company, "Galway Bay" which for ten euros return took us to the wonderful Cliffs of Moher (not to be missed!) and then to Lahinch where you can paricipate in surfing, 'tho we settled for something more sedate, namely a pot of tea and mouth-watering cakes in "grandaddy's" situated right on the front, where incidentally we had a 10% discount with our bus tickets!
With only one day of light rain in Galway, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2011

having stayed at the imperial hotel in lisdoonvarna recently for four days with a tour group we got so much more than we expected. the hotel its self was fine the rooms were a bit dated but very clean. what made this a great holiday was the staff in the restaurant were very freindly in particular a polish girl named evorna and the assitant manager james . the highlight of the holiday was the food i could not fault this at all. having stayed at a lot of hotels with tour groups over the past 12 years the food was by far the best. i would go as far as saying it was even better than my wifes but dont tell her that. would i recomend this hotel to a freind . well i already have quite a few and i will be going back next year for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank george5160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had not pre-booked a room as we were were not sure if we were to stay another night or not, but we ended up looking for something, and the hotel was the only one with rooms left (think i know why)
The beds were absolutely terrible, so hard that i would actually have had a better sleep in the car.
The room we got was 2 single beds, with a loo that was almost larger than the room itself.
No place to stick a suitcase, and quite frankly, there was hardly any room to get around the beds.
We had the "pleasure" to pay €80 for this, which was a complete rip-off.
The breakfast was inedible, and we ended up leaving it, and the staff (polish) had the audacity to ask for tips.
Sometimes, you come across hotels that don't expect to see you again as a guest, but try to cream as much off you as they can while you are there, and this is one of these hotels.
It's glossy on the surface, but when you take a look, it's pretty run down.

It's Ryanair (cattle class airline) service at absolute premium price, and you don't realize until it's too late and you are in.
Stay away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna, just a 10-minute drive from the Cliffs of Moher. It offers en suite bedrooms, a restaurant and a bar with live music most nights. Bedrooms at the Imperial feature satellite TVs, hair-dryers and telephones. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available and there is free Wi-Fi in public areas of the hotel. The restaurant offers international cuisine and traditional Irish breakfasts are served daily. There is a large lobby area which is adjoined by a sunny conservatory. The Burren National Park is a 15-minute drive and there are several golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing