We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great staff, good entertainment and a good place to explore Clare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rathbaun Hotel

Rathbaun Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rathbaun Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff, good entertainment and a good place to explore Clare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

They must pick the staff for friendliness here. The rooms are comfortable and a good size. There is no car park but we had no problem parking outside the hotel. I also enjoyed the breakfast. Every guest is asked if they need help with planning their itinerary which is a nice touch if you are unfamiliar with the area. There is music in the bar every evening and the bar is open late.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allthatfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
30
61
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertforshire, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Rathbaun is a nice hotel with friendly hosts, and live music every night in July/August. However be warned the very good house musicians are the same every night. So don't expect a different act each night. There's not a lot to do in Lisdoonvarna unless you are looking to find a husband/wife in which case go in September and look up Willie Daly in the Matchmaker Bar! We were told that at weekends in September it can get a little rowdy with the younger set. If you do stay I'd recommend that you take a boat trip from Doolin (a 10 minute drive away) to the Aran Isles and hire a bike, a lovely day out. Also the Cliffs of Moher are an easy drive from here. You can park right outside the hotel, don't worry about the SINGLE yellow line.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

I was really impressed with this little hotel. My friend and I were traveling and wanted to stay somewhere in proximity to the Cliffs of Moher. Somehow we discovered this little hotel and after seeing the positive reviews, we thought we can't go wrong.

This hotel is an absolute bargain! Granted it's located in a very small town, but compared to larger hotel chains that rake in the money on a daily basis, I was exceptionally pleased with all of the complimentary services. Upon our arrival, we had a very friendly and hospitable greeting. We were walked personally to our room, assisted with our bags, and provided with all the information we would need to make sure we have a comfortable stay.

The hotel room itself was of decent size, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were modern, and the bathroom was nice too. Overall it felt more like being at home then a hotel. There is even a small "living room" on the ground floor with couches, a television and computer for accessing the internet. This is the only hotel I stayed at on my trip that did not charge to use the internet.

The restaurant and bar in the hotel was also great! The food was just like a home cooked meal and every night they have a band that plays mainly traditional irish music from 8pm - midnight. Another perk in the food department was the complimentary Irish breakfast in the morning.

I can't speak highly enough of the experience I had at this hotel. It was truly fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Very friendly, accommodating hosts; great breakfast; great music; would definitely recommend

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

this was our first stop on our trip. Rathbaun is right in the heart of Lisdoonvarna. The rooms were very basic, clean with really comfy beds. they were a little small, but nothing to really complain about. We loved that we coul enjoy so much right in the hotel unlike a traditional B&B. there was a great pub with wonderful music and our meals were terrific. Our 20 yr old kids loved this spot and the people they met.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawneePembroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

This was a well run, friendly place. I actually booked as an alternative to another hotel in town but it was clean and had everything we needed.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank actormat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed here after a long flight from the states. Glad it wasn't any further from Shannon airport, we were exhausted. They let us check in early, the rooms were immaculate, and the service was awesome! Breakfast was good, but the staff is really what makes the place. They cater to EVERY need! It isn't real fancy, but is nice, and above all very clean. I would stay here again, however, be warned that room 22, which we had, is VERY noisy, as you can hear the band downstairs clear as a bell, so if you want peace and quiet, (at night in Ireland=why go?) just don't get rm 22. The music when we were there was more old time,,,,Elvis, johnny cash, etc, no Irish music, which was disappointing, but there are other places to go within walking distance. For 40 euro a night, we considered it a very good deal and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean and that the staff was great
  • Disliked — dinner menu limited
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank irishcollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbaun Hotel

Property: Rathbaun Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rathbaun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rathbaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing