We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rathbaun Hotel

Rathbaun Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rathbaun Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in the rathbaun last week for a night.
Friendly and helpful check in.
Rooms are basic but excellent for the price.
Nice dinner in the bar followed by a very nice evening of music.
Every member of staff were friendly and always smiling.
Nice fry up in morning prior to departure.
Only one word of caution. The music is played until midnight, not good if you want an early night.
Better to stay in bar and enjoy the fun.
Will certainly return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Celticjo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
30
61
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My husband and I visited in May 2013. We had been in Ireland for nearly a week by the time we got to Lisdoonvarna. We had stayed at a handful of hotels and had 2 more stops after this one. Rathbaun Hotel was the best of our trip! The owners are personable, welcoming, and so very helpful! The food was delicious. The beds were comfortable. I really could go on and on about this place! I am looking forward to visiting again in 2015!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vamason89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Lisdoonvarna not aware that September is matchmaking month and rooms are not easy to get on short notice. After stopping at a couple expensive hotels we stumbled upon the Rathbaun Hotel. The owner was very friendly and helpful suggesting places to see and music venues in town. The rooms were very nice- clean, comfortable, and homey. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and our waitress was exceptionally helpful and friendly. I would recommend this as a great place to stay while in the area!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SMarshall_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRathbaun, Owner at Rathbaun Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted that you had such a good time. Best wishes, Lynn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

After staying for 2 nights for the matchmaking festival in the hotel. I was horrified the way the owners treat their staff in front of guests. We were having a lovely lunch and one of the owners started shouting in front of everyone at a young girl. It was terrible to witness this type of abuse to a member of staff. The worst thing was she was most likely a student or a foreigner. This reflects badly on my country and on the Irish people in general.

We had witnessed a few occasions of the staff being treated badly and humiliated in front of customers. This is a place I would not like to go back to as we felt very uncomfortable and not welcome. Also the food there was below normal standard. As an Irish person who has travelled the country far and wide I am without doubt never coming to come back to Lisdoonvarna because of the bad experience I have had here for 3 days.

In my opinion avoid this Hotel Like !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Scuba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRathbaun, Owner at Rathbaun Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We have great staff who get great training here.
Health and safety are paramount for our customers and staff if an accident has to be avoided as in this case then I will raise my voice to avoid as serious accident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I and my 2 friends had a brilliant stay with john and lynn and all the wonderful musicians the food was excellent and the rooms spotless made 2 feel very much at home by all the staff would recommend this hotel 2 every 1 I no and hope 2 return some time in the future the people couldn't do enough for u and were a mine of information about what 2 do and see in the area really had a wonderful stay at this hotel rooms very comfortable and spotless and the music was fantastic and the gift shop was great 2 thank u very much john and lynn hope 2 c u again Gwyneth from banbridge in co. down n. Ireland

Room Tip: will stay here again food excellent good company and pleasant really feels like home thank you for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigleech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRathbaun, Owner at Rathbaun Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review, it is appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed staying here so much.
Thank you and best wishes, Lynn and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumconrath, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome even though we were too early for check in. Our cases were taken care of and we were shown our rooms, which were in the process of being made up. We were given directions to Doolin where we planned to spend the afternoon, and given all the information we needed. On our return in late afternoon our bags were in our rooms which were airy and comfortable. That evening there was a free session of four hours of live traditional music lasting until midnight, after which we slept very soundly. Our rooms faced the street but there was no noise to disturb us.

The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and I shall definitely stay here next time I am in Lisdoonvarna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in the Rathbaun Hotel, Lisdoonvarna and were really delighted with the friendly service, comfortable room and the food served to us (dinner and breakfast) was simply delicious. Our twin bedroom towards the back of the hotel was directly over the bar however the great Irish music finished at 12am and we retired to our bedroom and enjoyed a wonderful night's sleep. Our bedroom and bathroom were very clean with flat screen tv, tea making facilities with a great supply of tea bags/ coffee and biscuits should one wished to make a cuppa. We only stayed one night as we were touring around West Clare but we will return to this hotel again to experience the wonderful hospitality of Lynn and John who are very hardworking with the interest and comfort of their guests a priority.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clicker2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathbaun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbaun Hotel

Property: Rathbaun Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rathbaun Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rathbaun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbaun Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing