We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hostel Experience Ever.”
Review of The Burren Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burren Hostel
1 review
“Favorite Hostel Experience Ever.”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The space is warm, comfortable and friendly, which is exactly what you want when staying in a hostel. Richard the Red-Shirt-Man though, was definitely the best part of our stay. All the staff make it a really nice place for any sort of vacation. Particularly for teens. I was actually there in august of 09, but only got around to making the review now. I highly recommend The Burren. If I ever get a chance to go back to Ireland, it'll be the first thing I book.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara-Louise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
21
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Recently my wife and I (age pensioners) spent a fortnight travelling around the beautiful island of Ireland,and it was a joy to stay at this hostel.We found it one of the best ,and certainly have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Great value and well-worth staying in this hostel. It was extremely quiet when we were there which was good news for us. Plenty of parking and the staff were helpful and extremely pleasant. We stayed with our 12 year old son and were very happy with the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hostel was clean and quiet. More like a private hotel than a hostel. Our bathroom could have used some attention but okay anyway. The kitchen and dining room are fantastic. Would use again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatyank94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The fellow on front desk was very friendly. The place was not busy when we were there so it was quiet. They didn't provide any toilet paper so that was a big inconvenience the first day. The free tea/coffee/milk in the kitchen made up for it though. Pub down the street for Irish music and Good pub in Doolin for traditional Irish dishes and music at night also. Lots of hiking in the area. It is good for a 2 night stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vik28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I stayed four nights at the Sleepzone in Lisdoonvarna, as well as one night in both of the other Sleepzone hostels. I really enjoyed how homey it felt. The best part had to have been the staff though! Hagen and Richard - you guys were super friendly and helpful! I really appreciated how you made us feel at home, both in shelter and in company! I would return to a Sleepzone over and over again - especially this one! I only wish there were Sleepzones all over the world!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canada0007_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The hostel is great, it's big and it has the most amazing tv room with a fire place, putting everyone together cause it was cold outside. However, i think the high point of the hostel is Richard, that is that manager/host/full staff/etc. Him alone would make go back, either for the calm months or crazy September!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rallier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clare's Rock Hostel
Clare's Rock Hostel
#1 of 1 in Carran
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Hostel

Property: The Burren Hostel
Address: Doolin Rd, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone Hostel group. Great base for The Cliffs of Moher, walking in The Burren, surfing at beaches in Fanore and Lahinch. Across the road from some of the region's best Food & Drink in The Wild Honey Inn; The Burren Smokehouse and The Roadside Tavern (great traditional music nightly in summer and weekends all year) - with its new Burren Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Burren Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burren Hostel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing