We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in a sea of madness”
Review of The Burren Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Burren Hostel
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm in a sea of madness”
Reviewed June 15, 2010

The hostel was clean and quiet. More like a private hotel than a hostel. Our bathroom could have used some attention but okay anyway. The kitchen and dining room are fantastic. Would use again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expatyank94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    47
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
21
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The fellow on front desk was very friendly. The place was not busy when we were there so it was quiet. They didn't provide any toilet paper so that was a big inconvenience the first day. The free tea/coffee/milk in the kitchen made up for it though. Pub down the street for Irish music and Good pub in Doolin for traditional Irish dishes and music at night also. Lots of hiking in the area. It is good for a 2 night stay. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vik28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

I stayed four nights at the Sleepzone in Lisdoonvarna, as well as one night in both of the other Sleepzone hostels. I really enjoyed how homey it felt. The best part had to have been the staff though! Hagen and Richard - you guys were super friendly and helpful! I really appreciated how you made us feel at home, both in shelter and in company! I would return to a Sleepzone over and over again - especially this one! I only wish there were Sleepzones all over the world!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canada0007_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The hostel is great, it's big and it has the most amazing tv room with a fire place, putting everyone together cause it was cold outside. However, i think the high point of the hostel is Richard, that is that manager/host/full staff/etc. Him alone would make go back, either for the calm months or crazy September!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rallier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We had a nice room for 5 with ensuite batroom and beautifull views into the garden. The building is a former hotel and therefore you still get all the luxuries like large dinning room with huge vindows, ensuite bathrooms and many other facilities.
The dinning room can get a bit busy in the morning, but that's the fun of hostelling, isn't it? You meet all the fun people from all over the world.
Got suggested a nice pub for food near by and another nice pup for the traditional music in the evening.
All the staff is supper friendly even when under stress when checking in 3 large groups all at the same time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinGabiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

First impressions of this place weren't great- it felt like an abandoned hotel that college students took over. Not very clean and the rooms looked run down. But the staff is what really makes this place great- friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable. The price was right, too. The common rooms were ok, one had a working fireplace and the other had a pay as you play mini pool table and a funny looking foosball table. We picked Lisdoonvarna as out post for The Burren because Rick Steves said it was our best bet.. but there isn't much of a town and don't even think about grabbing breakfast before 9, nobody is open. We ate dinner at a pub in Doolin which had great music... other than that, what you get out of The Burren is nature. Don't count on a nightlife or anywhere to buy souveniers. I'd probably stay in Ennis next time around, but I don't regret staying at Sleepzone at all. Definitely one of the better hostels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaaBlaaBlaaVideos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This was my first stay in a hostel type accommodation. As a former hotel rooms are big and spacious with the removal or any frills that were there. Free internet access when in the kitchen or tv room. You also have free use of their kitchen so you can make your breakfast or dinner. It will not to be everyones taste but as i need somewhere to stay 1 night it was fine and enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elements Guest House
Elements Guest House
#2 of 16 in Lisdoonvarna
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleepzone Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Hostel

Property: The Burren Hostel
Address: Doolin Rd, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone Hostel group. Great base for The Cliffs of Moher, walking in The Burren, surfing at beaches in Fanore and Lahinch. Across the road from some of the region's best Food & Drink in The Wild Honey Inn; The Burren Smokehouse and The Roadside Tavern (great traditional music nightly in summer and weekends all year) - with its new Burren Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Burren Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burren Hostel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing