We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what it is”
Review of The Burren Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Burren Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced for what it is”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Burren Hostel is alright for what it is, a hostel. the only problem is that they charge the price of a B&B (even of you don't get a decent breakfast).
We booked a double room online with my partner and we ended up in a dorm room.
There was just us in the dorm but still... it wasn't the romantic double room we were hoping for.
Very disappointing...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agathe1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
22
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just back from Sleepzone - Burren Hostel!!
What a pleasant surprise we are a family of 4 with 2 very active teenagers and are just back from a 3 night stay in Sleepzone Burren.
Exactly what it says on the tin! We used the hostel as a base and spent a day on Inis Oirr after taking a ferry from Doolin! Weather was excellent and fare to Island also included a return trip via the Cliffs of Moher. Another day was spent with my teenage kids getting surfing lessons on Fanore Beach. Spent yesterday evening swimming with Dusty the Dolphin in Doolin harbour.

Roadside Tavern is a 3 minute walk offering excellent food at realistic prices. Burren Black stout is made in their own micro brewery!! Thought I had died and gone to heaven!! Live traditional and jazz music on alternate nights. Burren smokehouse directly across the road.

As for the hostel this used to be a hotel in the past and you get to use the original hotel kitchen with walk in cold room...... no domestic fridges here! Complimentary continental breakfast. Free tea and coffee up to 11 pm. Free Wi-Fi, comfortable TV room with library. My teenagers spent the evening playing cards and meeting fellow teenagers from all over the world. Felt a little like the United Nations - email addresses exchanged.

All in all top marks for this gem of a hostel and will definitely return again. 6 bedroom family room for 60 euro per night with private bathroom! So save your money on accomodation and enjoy dining out and tons of fun filled activities for all the family. Definitely a recession buster!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeker1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just stayed with the family ( four unruly kids ) and I have to say it was most excellent , kids enjoyed themselves and had a great time in the hostel , with plenty of space and patience for them . The room was spacious and the amenities spot on . Staff are wonderful . It makes a great base for heading off around the beautiful Burren and the rest of beautiful Clare . Kitchen facilities are top notch , and the Dining room , common areas and TV room are most comfortable . Parking is great ,and the location is perfect , seconds walk from the Pub ( the Roadside Tavern ), the local shops , and Bus stop yet nicely secluded and not bustling .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanieWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose this hostel as our “base” for trips around (Doolin caves, Cliffs of Moher, etc.), location is great. We were 4 people and had 6 bed room, which was large with private bathroom with WC and bathtub. Air in the room was a bit stale, but room and bathroom was clean. Staff was really great and helpful. We could cook anything in fully equipped kitchen, in fact we didn’t cook anything, but possibility was there. We just made tea, which was free and used mugs which were sometimes not well washed up, because dishes is washing up by guests – but probably everyone checks dishes before use, so no big deal. Near hostel is take away China restaurant or pizza. For me, rooms were a bit cold, but other 3 fellows were OK :-) I could recommend this hostel and I would return there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sislik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although we found the staff (the majority being French students) friendly and helpful and the public spaces clean and comfortable this hostel was a disappointment due to the lack of maintenance of the dormitories and care for the needs of self caterers. Our first dorm was rather dank and cold, the built in was hair drier was shorted out at the wall and its shower room suffering from black mould. We were met with great politeness when we requested a move and indeed the room was an improvement but it too had problems with the curtains being held up with cable ties and thus unable to draw across the window fully and the door knob falling off in our hands. The beds were comfortable and the hostel was quiet apart from two false fire alarms in the early hours which caused us hammering hearts and rushed dressing. Apparently they are a common occurrence and they intend to get the fault fixed sometime....
The old hotel kitchen is huge but strangely difficult to use by self caterers - some thought is needed by the managers on how best to apply the space to the new function.
All in all in need of a good handyperson and practical management to do justice to the high quality of staff helpfulness and service and the lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The service was absolutely great. My friend and I were interested in catching some trad music, and our host found us a good pub and arranged taxis for us. We ran into a problem with cash (for our bus out) and she helped us find the right tickets and printed them for us. We had arranged to go horseback riding the day we were leaving, and she spoke with the company to get us picked up and dropped off. It was such a relief to talk to someone who knew so much and could make the calls for us!

The stay itself was fairly average. There wasn't much hot water. But it was a really cheap place, and well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midenianscholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We booked this hostel as we wanted to be close to the Cliffs of Moher. It was the best random choice we've done in a while! The location is perfect for driving along the Burrens - great destination in Ireland with loads of places to see! The staff was really really friendly and the environment in the hostel was very good! The room was nothing too fancy but very clean and neat!

Best thing about this hostel? the location! it is immediately close by to the pub Roadside Tavern which served us the most awesome food and live music!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helder_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.0 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.0 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aran View Country House
0.0 mi away
Aille River Hostel
Aille River Hostel
#2 of 16 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burren Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burren Hostel

Property: The Burren Hostel
Address: Doolin Rd, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Galway's award-winning Sleepzone Hostel group. Great base for The Cliffs of Moher, walking in The Burren, surfing at beaches in Fanore and Lahinch. Across the road from some of the region's best Food & Drink in The Wild Honey Inn; The Burren Smokehouse and The Roadside Tavern (great traditional music nightly in summer and weekends all year) - with its new Burren Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Burren Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Burren Hostel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing