We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burren Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Royal Spa Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rathbaun Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gregans Castle Hotel(Ballyvaughan)
$526
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Falls Hotel & Spa(Ennistymon)
$179
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Imperial Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Thomond Hotel(Lisdoonvarna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveler rating
90
53
28
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
53
28
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herecoach partyfriendliest staffclean roomsshort breaklast weekendhotel is spotlessquiet locationgreat place to staybit datedhis wifethree nightscounty clarewarm welcometop classrichardtaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 181 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Having read some of the reviews we were anxious ! There was no need to be. The Burren Castle hotel was clean, with spacious bedrooms and tastefully decorated public areas. The staff were very good and the standard of food was higher than 3*. The major problem with the hotel was its location. Situated 2k from the village of Lisdoonvarna. There are no street lights or pavements into the village and this gives a feeling of isolation. The hotel does offer to arrange taxis. The advertised "entertainment" was a little tired, and ended at 2230. This wouldn't have been that bad if somekind of background music was played. But it was early nights for all !

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank permarperterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here with a tour group from the states, from past revies was not expecting too much. I can say i was surprised, the staff are as friendly as ever, the rooms, though old fashioned are big and clean and have great views of the lovely country side. The food was outstanding, and the waiters were very helpful. Very much enjoyed our stay, and would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myles1241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We stayed here for four nights at the end of July '08. It is located about a 20 minute walk from Lisdoonvarna which is the closest town although the road has no pavement or lighting and is therefore only suitable for pedestrians to use with extreme care (It is a national speed limit road)

The hotel itself is perhaps the poorest 3 star Hotel we have stayed in. The rooms were very dirty, had clearly not had a good clean for months and had an unpleasent odour. On checking into the room, we found that the toilet had not been cleaned, and, in fact, had faeces covering the inside. When this was pointed out to the manager, he seemed non plussed although sent someone up to clean it (The person who came to clean it thought it was ok to use a toilet brush and flush it away rather than use any disinfectant!) - which in my opinion says a lot about the standards of cleaning in the hotel.

The rooms are sparsely equipped, the shower alternates between scolding hot and ice cold no matter where the thermostat is moved (other guests we spoke to experienced the same) The grounds include a tennis court, mini golf course and childrens swing/ seesaw at the front of the building which have long since fallen into disrepair.

The food was variable, although the chef did seem to have a fixation with the use of huge amounts of salt in everything he made, at least half of the meals were inedible and several guests were complaining as such. Also much of the food was processed - for example, mixed fruit crumble was canned fruit cocktail with a crumble crust on top !

The service in the restaurant was ok, the only really redeeming feature of the hotel was the excellent service in the bar, unfortunately (for the hotel) the Barmaid told us she was leaving soon.

Needless to say, we would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wand3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2007

Came to Ireland on a coach tour to this hotel, and was wonderfully surprised at the comfort and friendlyness of the staff.
Food was excellent and the staff were ever eager to help in any way. Rooms where basic yet had all that we needed. They were warm and very comfortable. The ones we stayed in had just been re-wallpapered.
We would recomend this hotel to all,
Mr B.Rowe
Wales

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nige60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Myself and my husband Brendan, his two brothers and there wives stayed in the Burren Castle for the October bank holiday weekend 2006. There was a country music weekend there. It was the best weekend we ever had. The music was brilliant, we danced and sang till all hours to Pat Hayes, TR Dallas and John Hogan. The food was excellent and the staff in the Hotel could'nt have been more helpfull. The hotel was very clean and warm. The people there were very friendly. All in all I would give the weekend 100% top marks. We would go again.

Geraldine and Brendan Hoary
29A Murmont Crescent
Montenotte
Cork

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hoarys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews