We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”
Review of The Hydro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hydro Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels, many hotels. And this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are very polite, the reception area is very welcoming and the food is very good. For me, the basics I look for is cleanliness and a comfortable bed. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are very comfortable. I look forward to returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrJROConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear such a positive feedback regarding customer service, food and rooms which are result of our staff members who try every day to provide a great experience to all of our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in our hotel!

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    78
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
33
79
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at hotel late Monday nite and passengers went straight into dinner no hassle from staff and the manager could not do enough for everyone rooms large and comfy entertainment every nite would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to go to cliffs of mohair

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. We always strive to make our guests feel welcomed and comfortable while staying with us and your comment is a great recognition for the whole team working in hotel.
Thank you for recommendation and you are always welcome to come back!

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night,was impressed with helpful receptionist and clean, adequate rooms. Location is great and bar is nice.Restaurant menu poor for dinner with little choice.Breakfast was unedible & was truly awful with food that seemed to have been prepared for hours, orange juice poured on table for us and no offer of coffee refills.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We highly appreciate your comments on our staff and customer service. We always make sure the comments reach every department which is a great recognition for every single staff member and for the hotel.

We are glad you liked the hotel location which is an ideal base to explore all major attractions, from Cliffs of Moher to Burren, Doolin, Ballyvaughan.

In our restaurant we offer every day different menus with several choices for starters, main courses and desserts. We are sorry to hear we did not reach your expectations. We regret for not being able to talk to you about your concerns during breakfast time and make your experience more pleasant. We always try to meet the needs of our guests and go extra mile to satisfy those needs. We constantly offer orange juice and coffee refills as many times as guests desire and we regret you have not experienced that with us.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and please feel free to contact us back anytime.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel is really good, a little dated, but thats all the negative remarks I have for the hydro hotel. It,s absolutely spotless and the staff have great pride in their work. We arrived late by accident for our evening meal sitting, when the staff were tidying up. And without the slightest hesitation, we were made feel immediately welcome, and were shown to our table. And enjoyed a lovely unhurried meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you like to relax, but at the same time child friendly. Great location, and great value.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon_oreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay which is highly valued. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we highly appreciate your comments on our staff and customer service. Our staff members are very commited to their work and we try every day to create a good working atmosphere which is reflected to the outside and to our guests.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Well, where to begin. Arrived and at first glance thought that this would be an alright stay. Rooms were cold and harsh on the senses. Lino floors reminded me of a back packers and with long narrow, sometimes dark corridors to get to our room for the night made my initial thoughts slowly come to the realization we could be in for quite the journey here.

Dinner in the hotel was something out of this world. I ordered the Turkey, which came with a piece of grilled pineapple, some pineapple juice from a can running around the plate and a small spoon full (one mouth full) of warm coleslaw. Steer well clear of the food.

Limited WiFi in lobby and none in bedroom. Would not wish this stay upon anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We always take the guest feedback very seriously and act on it immediately as it gives us an opportunity to continuously improve. Stating that we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your last stay with us. Due to weather changes during the past few weeks we had to balance the heating in the rooms which caused daily and hourly monitoring from our side by switching off/on the heating. We regret for not being able to receive your concerns while staying with us and to find solution for you immediately.

We also regret for not being able to speak to you over dinner and make your dining experience more pleasant. We always try to meet the needs of our guests and go extra mile to satisfy those needs in either providing extra food supplements or main course adjustments.

We are continually upgrading and improving our amenities and services at the hotel and WiFi upgrade to the rooms is on our drawing board. We look forward to announce the upgrade once completed.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and feel free to contact us back anytime.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Rang this hotel to book a break away with Groupon Voucher ......and was not accommodated in any shape or form ...I had my dates in front of me and could not get two consecutive nights together... Why does this hotel bother to say its available for breaks when you cannot be accommodated....shouldn't be allowed....it did specify Limited Availability but I was met with NO AVAILABILITY and was told I could look for a refund from Groupon. YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED.....

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stavrosireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementHydro, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We regret you were not able to book the desired dates with us through Groupon offer. We have received an extremely high response and many bookings. We understand your situation, however we strongly recommend to check availability directly with a hotel and pre book desired dates before buying a voucher on line.

We would be glad to welcome you to stay with us at any other time in future and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very warm welcome no matter how late you arrive.
Staff so helpful and always happy
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
Location Great views.
Restaurant service is great and a good Bar Prices very good for a Hotel.
Lovely spacious lounges 2 with large tvs One smaller one with lovely views.
Large car park.
If you are visiting Cliffs of Moher or limerick this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
6.0 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.1 mi away
Royal Spa Hotel
Royal Spa Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hydro Hotel

Property: The Hydro Hotel
Address: Main Street, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna
The Hydro Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing