We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best smoked salmon ever”

Burren Smokehouse Visitor Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Burren Smokehouse Visitors Centre, Lisdoonvarna, was established in 1995, to create a window for the smokehouse’s own products and other local gourmet products and crafts. We offer a video for our visitors that shows how our salmon is being smoked, starting from filleting to dispatch. The audiovisual is available in English, German, French, Spanish, Italian and English with Dutch subtitles. You can taste our salmon and also look into our very first kiln – now retired – with its smokebox that had a facility for 25 sides of salmon to be smoked.Apart from a painting done by the late Cyril O'Ceirin depicting how salmon was smoked in Ireland thousands of years ago, you will discover our unique mosaics telling the story of the ‘Salmon of Knowledge’.Our Visitor Centre has become a popular attraction in the North County Clare area and welcomes visitors from all over the world. It is open all year round, please check our website – click on ‘Visit us in Ireland’ – to see the opening hours.The centre can also cater for groups of up to 50 people – booking in advance is necessary. In our crafts and delicatessen shop you can conveniently cover all the presents that you will need to bring home with you.The Burren Smokehouse is a family-run business that was set up in 1989 by Birgitta & Peter Curtin. We carefully source our Irish quality raw materials for the Burren Smoked Salmon, Trout, Mackerel, and Cheese. We control our own quality standards with backup of regular testing from independent laboratories and regular checks from organisations who certify us. The Smokehouse currently employs a staff of fifteen, and ships within Ireland and to countries all over the world through our visitor centre and through our website.We are associated with Slow Food Ireland and help organise the annual Burren Slow Food Festival which takes place every May in Lisdoonvarna. We are also member of Good Food Ireland and the Burren Ecotourism Network. We are passionate about our local and Irish foods that you can buy in our gourmet shop. Our range includes: * Our own smoked organic salmon, smoked mackerel, trout; we only use fish caught or grown in Ireland * Irish craft products, gifts, beauty products and clothes * Delicacies like jams, chocolates, biscuits, fruit wine from County Clare, mead, seaweed products, seasonings, honeys * Locally produced dairy, goat and sheep cheese specialtiesFree parking available, as well as access and facilities for the disabled.We offer a world wide mail order service in our visitor centre - pick from our wide range of products and have it shipped to yourself or your friends and family as a souvenir from Ireland.Feel free to ask us any questions you may have, we will be happy to answer them for you.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
191 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The best smoked salmon ever”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Having had lunch (with smoked salmon) at The Roadside Tavern we went to visit Burren Smokehouse, which belongs to the same family. We saw a 7 min. videopresentation and tasted the smoked salmon. Really the best ever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mogens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    38
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
394 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Nice but pricey”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Despite the big fish sign outside, we had quite a bit of trouble finding this place … there was very limited signage on the main road through Lisdoonvarna. (Our SatNav wasn't much help.) We arrived very close to closing and were a bit short of time but the staff were helpful and suggested a couple of varieties which would be 'different'. They were very nice but the price seemed high for the amount of salmon when compared to UK deli prices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenSmokehouse, Public Relations Manager at Burren Smokehouse Visitor Centre, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Chris F,

Thank you very much for the time you took to write a review. And for the time and trouble of finding us! We are aware of a certain lack of signs on the roads leading to Lisdoonvarna, and we are also in the process of improving our signage, so your comment is a timely reminder.

Thank you for your kind words about our dedicated staff members, they are always happy to serve.

As to the price level of our products, we just want to point out that the prices depend a lot on the origin of the salmon, and are reflected in the quality of the fish. Salmon from Norway for example tends to be the cheapest, and salmon from Ireland the most expensive. Also, we only have organically farmed and wild salmon from Ireland on offer, which would both be more expensive than the non-organically farmed salmon.

We are selling our Burren smoked organic salmon in Selfridges and Fortnum & Mason in London, and both establishments are very focused on quality rather than price which coincides nicely with our business ethos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
231 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Nice informative interlude”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

While this is a commercially driven enterprise selling smoked salmon products it does offer an informative video and tastings of the product. You have to admire the enterprise of the couple running this place and the products are delicious

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick county
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very poor service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I visited the Burren smoke house on the Sunday of the slow food festiva with my sonl. I looked forward to trying their excellent range of products especially the smoked salmon and sea weed.

I asked to try this product and was told that they would have to open a new packet and would not do this, I was told that it tasted like raw fish??? The service here was very poor. I was then offered a small piece of cold smoked salmon that was left over from a French tour.

I then attended an excellent slow food demo in local hall. There was a Burren smoke house stand but NO SALMON for sale or to try.

This product ie well advertised but the service in the shop is very poor and left me and my son very dissapointed,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rockjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenSmokehouse, Public Relations Manager at Burren Smokehouse Visitor Centre, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Rockjon,

First of all, we want to apologise for the bad experience you have made in our visitor centre. Our aim is to make our customers happy so we take your criticism very seriously.

Our staff should have indeed opened the pack for you and let you and your son taste the seaweed salmon. Instead, you got a tasting that was the unmarinated organic salmon which is the salmon taster we give to every customer.

We talked to the staff member in question to make sure that next time, a particular type of salmon can be tasted and experienced. So we want to thank you for your constructive criticism that will help to improve our service and our customers' experience.

As to the "raw fish" statement, we presume that there was some kind of misunderstanding. The French staff member in question did not know what "raw" meant, so she did not use that word. What she most likely said was that it tastes like sushi, which is easily translated into raw, but it was not what she meant. So apologies again for this kind of "lost in translation" experience.

We made a conscious decision not to have any salmon for sale or tasting at the Burren Slow Food Festival for logistical reasons. As the shop is not too far away, those interested would have had a chance to walk the short distance through the park or drive down, and taste/buy the salmon there.

We do hope that you will come back to our shop and give us a chance to show you that we do have an excellent customer service in place - also thanks to your feedback.

Karin Funke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful explanation of the smoking process”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The shop is cozy and quaint. They also provided an excellent explanation of the smoking process. The variety and prices of smoked products was impressive!! Well, worth the visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burren Smokehouse Visitor Centre also viewed

Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
 

Been to Burren Smokehouse Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing