We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Country Home with 5 Star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming Country Home with 5 Star service”
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We had a wonderful stay here in July 2009. The house is warm and welcoming with comfortable furnishings and antiques. The hospitality provided by the owner hosts was second to none and one of the best experiences we had in Ireland. They really made us feel like weekend guests at their home.

Our room was spacious and elegantly decorated.. again the feel of county home guests.. The clawfooted tub was a luxury after a few nights with only showers. This was my favorite room in all the country inns we stayed in.

The dining area is beautiful and peaceful. The Breakfast was excellent with unique choices, fresh ingredient and a wonderful variety from the typical Irish Fry. The homemade granola is wonderful.

The best part about this place was the proximity to the amazing Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. Lisdoornva is a quiet country village but so accessible to great hikes, walks and view. We abosolutely loved it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slpmom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    34
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
162
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota,Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

After staying in a cold B & B with a miniscule bathroom, this place was like a castle. Mrs. Sheedy couldn't have been nicer. The dining room was already fully booked, and when she saw our disappointment, she suggested that we eat in the bar, but use the dining room menu. The lamb was some of the best I have ever eaten. and cooked perfectly. Everything at breakfast was homemade and delicious. It might have been at the higher end of our budget, but it was worth every penny. The room was very spacious, warm, and the bathroom was incredibly large. The faucet at the sink had one spout for both the hot and cold water, which is a rarity in Ireland. Good choice.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CAPPY237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

stayed for 3 nights, food was excellent, the best dessert i have ever tasted. rooms were large and very comfortable.

it is well located to explore the area. I thought value for money it was accurate, neither great value nor too expensive.

good for any group, young or old, we ranged in age from 10 weeks to 88 years and everything in between.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnylegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Meath Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

This Hotel is a little gem hidden away just out of town in Lisdoonvarna,The gateway to all that is the Burren and the coastline .The town has little to offer in heritage but is in the right place for touring.I had stayed in the O"neills Painting School for a week which was hard work and had trekked the Burren in the rain so Sheedys was a treat at the end of the trip.Beautiful room.Spacious and clean.Food was delicious,especially the breakfast The banana bread,pancakes with fruit and a good hearty "fry up".If your passing through Lisdoonvarna,Have Dinner or a sleep over if you can its a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Co_MeathIrelandPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Spend a night in Martina's place in Lisdoonvarna and you'll see exactly why her establishment has received its awards. She is warm and friendly, combined with a bundle of energy and gracious competence.

The rooms are excellent. Large enough for comfort, not so large that one rattles around like a dry pea in a pod. The front garden is set away from the road and perfect for reading or enjoying a Guiness in the afternoon before dinner. Within easy walking distances are pubs that have traditional Irish fare and music 7 days a week and great pieces of County Clare history.

Dinner is an impressive array of traditional Irish and European fares, along with a wine list that is eclectic enough for any taste... if you can tear yourself away from the 'Irish' and the Guiness long enough.

I'm not sure I can say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineDrinkerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Sheedy's was great. Martina takes excellent care of the guests and the food is killer. Good location near Cliffs of Moher and lots of beautiful sights. Definitely a good place to stay, or even just visit for a nice dinner.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamierand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The family run Inn was amazing. Martina met us with a smile and remembered all of our names (20 of us), by the next day. Everything was well organized, and the rooms were clean and quaint. The food was so amazing that the group asked to see the chef and gave a well deserved roaring round of applause. The location is great, and is just a quick walk to the town center. I would definitely stay at Sheedy's again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawortheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
6.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Property: Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing