We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I own a small b and b so I am always looking at other places with my eyes wide open.

We were on a bicycle trip thru Ireland and this was our 2nd stop.
the property was amazing, room was lovely and the food was 5 star.

As with many family owned businesses, the owners went out of their way.
But we all noticed a little extra something & this was the icing on the cake.

thanks for a wonderful stay~~

sincerely,
Ronna from Taveuni

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 317 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Attention to detail is the name of the game here. I visited as part of a bicycling group and within a day Martina knew everyone's name. Rooms are very nice, gardens lovely and chef John Sheedy is as good as advertised. I would highly recommend this small, inviting hotel in Lisdoonvarna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arewethereyet844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place gives maximum attention to every possible detail. the live fireplace with the accompanying comfy chairs, books and magazines. the bathroom with bath robes and towels the size an elephant could have used. it felt like being at home away from home. we absolutely loved it. and on top of all was the great hospitality by Martina Sheedy

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoav_Lurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I drove around part of Ireland for part of our Honeymoon and getting to stay here was a highlight. The house is so lovely, with wonderful hospitality and service. I was feeling very ill when we arrived and the friendly owner Martine was very welcoming and quick to help me rest and recover. Feeling better the next day i was able to enjoy the spacious comfortable rooms, the big bath with lots of clean fluffy towels and the food that was absolutely delicious. We loved our very short stay here, and would come again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Manager at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Sheedys. Ireland, and indeed Co. Clare is a wonderful place for a honeymoon! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Ireland and look forward to welcoming you back for the anniversary! Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I went on a walking holiday to the Burren last weekend with a friend and had the pleasure of staying at Sheedy's. The room was large and comfortable and then there was the food...absolutely delicious! There was so much to enjoy about the hotel: the cosy library and the residents' bar are still on my mind as I write this. I will come back every year to the Burren but only if I can stay with John and Martina at Sheedy's. Congratulations! ANNE

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Manager at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Great to hear that you both enjoyed your recent stay - it was a great pleasure to have met you and we hope to welcome you both back some day soon. Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Had an absolutely delightful stay at Sheedy's mainly due to the amazing owner, Martina! She not only made us feel so welcomed she knew each of the twenty of us in our group by name after a brief initial introduction....incredible. Enjoyed the warmth, the atmosphere and the food!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Sheedys. I hope you enjoyed Galway and your onward journey to the Islands and Connemara. West Clare is a beautiful place for a cycling holiday - I hope you agree that the views along the Coast Road are only stunning! I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Sheedys next time you visit Ireland. Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Husband John is the Chef, best restaurant in Ireland ! Wife Martina is a true gem of a hostess !!
Large rooms with all the amenities . Full Breakfast included.
The staff can't do enough ! Highly recommend the Lamb dinner and the crab appetizer .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurricaneyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

John and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay here with us. Indeed Lisdoonvarna is a great town as its so close to the famous Cliffs of Moher and Lahinch Golf. I hope you both has a good onward journey and that you will enjoy Galway! Enjoy Dublin too and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Ireland. Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
479 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: $164 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing