We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheedy's is Superior!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at Sheedy's on a bicycle tour. From the outside Sheedy's looks nice and well tended, but not amazing. Step inside...then it is amazing! John and Martina are 2 of the hardest working people you'll ever see...serving guests at breakfast and dinner, checking people in, working the bar, and "doing it all". Their commitment to their hotel and their guests is superior. Also superior is the food...just great! I would love to have stayed longer and recommend this hotel highly--not one bad thing to say about it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Manager at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

John and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent two night stay with us on the bike tour. Lisdoonvarna is a great base for a biking holiday and the roads around the Burren are relatively quiet. We look forwad to welcoming you and your friends back to Sheedys and the burren soon. Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Sheedy's Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 315 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

The difficult thing about Sheedys is leaving. We stayed for four days and wished it had been much longer. Martina looks after her guests unobtrusively but impeccably, while husband John works alchemy in the kitchen, with superb produce cooked to perfection. The slow cooked beef was amazing. Altogether a great experience; Sheedys sets the bar for small hotels very high indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurrenLady, Owner at Sheedy's Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Sue, John and I are delighted that you both enjoyed your 4 night stay at Sheedys. It was a great pleasure to have you stay with us. Its a beautiful day here in Lisdoonvarna - it looks like we will get a Summer at last! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheedys soon. Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed one night in May 2013. I so wish we had stayed longer. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The bedding was great - high quality sheets and a nice, snuggley wool blanket. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was superb. We didn't eat there for dinner, because we wanted to go to the nearby Roadside Tavern, but would have if we had stayed another night .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indycindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hands down our favorite hotel in Ireland. Small enough to be quaint and friendly, but with the amenities of the very best luxury hotels. Martina was a jewel, and John the finest cook. Wish we could have stayed a month. Highly recommended. A great place for touring The Burren and Cliffs of Moher.

Room Tip: I booked through the hotel's website, emailed beforehand, and think we got the best room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CINDY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location:

The location is a few miles outside the town of Doolin. It takes about ten minutes’ drive to make it to either the Cliffs of Moher or the ferries. Lisdoonvarna is a great little town even outside the months of their matchmaker festival. I heard it’s quite packed during the festival. There are a few pubs and restaurants in town (But the ones in Sheedy’s are great).

The room:

The room was large, clean, and wonderful. The service was impeccable and the innkeepers were great. I can’t say enough about the room. It was nicely furnished and decorated. The bathroom was large with a nice tub/shower combo and a hairdryer.

Overall:

Great place to stay. The previous positive reviewers are not wrong. Sheedy’s is everything they say and more. The innkeepers were wonderful, pleasant, and made sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast and restaurant are wonderful. I can’t think of anywhere I had a better meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent hotel and great value for money. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty and nothing was a problem. We got completely spoiled. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was one of the best I have ever tasted. Martina and John work extremely hard and this is evident when you spend time in the hotel. The bedrooms are spotless and spacious.
I would highly recommend Sheedy s for a relaxing evening and night and I hope to go back in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Just let Martina know what you are looking for and she will ensure you get the room you are looking...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oisin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is an excellent hotel that has been in the same family for many generations. I can't say enough about Martina and her husband John. They make you feel welcome and at home the minute you walk in the door. As you walk past reception you will note multiple culinery awards on the wall earned by John who is a chef. We didn't know what a treat we were in for. The biscuits and tea on arrival were just the beginning. Breakfast was amazing and cooked to perfection. The porridge with Baileys warmed me up on a chilly morning. The hotel is very clean, the bedrooms spacious and comfortable. If I had known it was going to be this nice I would have stayed 3-4 nights and used this as a base for exploring the cliffs of Moher and the Burren. We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy4559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
2.4 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.1 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rathbaun Hotel
Rathbaun Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheedy's Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheedy's Country House Hotel

Address: Main Street | The Burren, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range: $170 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheedy's Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheedy's Hotel and Restaurant offers the very best in traditional hospitality and service. This 4* hotel is located in Lisdoonvarna village, just 10 minutes drive from the Cliffs of Moher, 3 miles from Doolin and the Burren is on our doorstep. Our Restaurant holds Two Rosettes from AA. Bar food also available each evening. Free internet access througout the hotel. Free on site car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheedy's Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheedy's Country House Hotel Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing