We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent and great value for money”
Review of The Irish Arms

The Irish Arms
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Lisdoonvarna
Price range: $5 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Irish Arms is a Pub, Restaurant and B & B situated in Lisdoonvarna Co Clare. This landmark Pub has been owned and run by The McNamara Family since 1990. It's reputation as the best Pub in which to dine in Lisdoonvarna has been built on steadily, year after year, for nearly quarter of a century. Maintaining high standards in quality, service and hygiene are always their top priority. The Irish Arms is highly recommended by many of their neighbournig Guest Houses, B&Bs, and Hostels. Their Menu caters for most tastes, with a strong leaning towards Traditional Irish Food. They serve Homemade Soups and Chowders, Burren Smoked Salmon and Succulent Steaks, as well as their famous Bacon & Cabbage, and Beef in Guinness Stew. A Daily Secial is served everyday and a Roast Dinner is available every Sunday. They offer a varied Kids Menu for only €5.50. They serve quality food at reasonable prices. You will find them conveniently located on the Main Street at the top of the town, next door to the Post Office, and only 200 metres from Lisdoonvarna Town Centre. The McNamara Family look forward to seeing you at The Irish Arms soon.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten in this place on many occasions. It is great value for money, spotlessly clean, family run, and all in all a great place to stop if you are in north clare. Also it is open all year round, when many places only open during high season

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marsubri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaninMac, Owner at The Irish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Be sure and call in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for The Irish Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 134 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We visited this place on my way back to Galway - after half day of motorcycling we were hungry and this place was on our way. Restaurant/pub looks interesting. Its nice decorated and it has nice atmosphere. Staff at the bar was friendly.

As usual I ordered the Seafood Chowder - it wasn't bad but it wasn't great neither. There was just few pieces of seafood - it is not what I am used to...

Friend of mine ordered Chicken Burger, it came with fries and salad, it was well presented. Burger was just a bun and piece of chicken... Nothing special after all.

The service was friendly, and we received our meals in short time.
I was a bit disappointed about the food - I have seen many good reviews of this place on TripAdvisor...
Maybe we were there in wrong time?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tymoniasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaninMac, Owner at The Irish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. Sorry that you did not enjoy your meal as much as we would have hoped. Please call in next time you are passing by and give us another try!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our first meal in Lisdoonvarna was here. It was so good that we chose to go back. The bartender is a family hero now due to suggesting a visit to the Corofin Heritage Center. We were able to trace my family's lineage. I'd say that's excellent service!

Thank vamason89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaninMac, Owner at The Irish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thanks for your kind review and glad you got to track down your roots. All good ones i hope!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have honestly never had a bad meal in here.. very reasonably priced... excellent food and lovely staff! Note to all visitors of Lisdoonvarna: If you are looking for an excellent quality restaurant, eat here! Avoid the Ravine hotel next door like the plague :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 125Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaninMac, Owner at The Irish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Hi Anna, and thank you so much for your kind review. We should point out though that we would prefer if reviewers would not post remarks on here about other places in the town. It can cause problems!! Otherwise thanks again and please do call in next time your in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Called in twice to this establishment, while staying locally.
Very pleasant server behind bar with pedestrian impediment. Couldn't do enough...delivered tea and coffee quickly without fuss.
Recommend change of lookalike electric stove to a real fire. Its what people we spoke to want.
Otherwise good service and ambience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaninMac, Owner at The Irish Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

We think you might be on to something there after the winter we have had. Thanks for your honest review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irish Arms also viewed

 
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
Lisdoonvarna, The Burren
 

Been to The Irish Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing