We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful B&B with superb hospitality”
Review of Wild Honey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Honey Inn
Ranked #5 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful B&B with superb hospitality”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

A wonderful place to stay and spend some time just relaxing between cities and historical sites. The room was spotless and very cozy, we even had our own patio to an outside walled garden area. The included breakfast was perfect and the dining area is lovely. We didn't eat dinner in the main restaurant (only because we were looking for a traditional pub to eat at that night) but we did have a pint in the restaurant late in the evening and again the atmosphere and staff were wonderful. We would love to return there one day soon & spend more than one night and try the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    29
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
29
128
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rennes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We first came to stay here a while after this couple first opened their doors. Since then they have done a lot to make this place a cosy retreat in the Burren.
We are out doors people and find Wild Honey Inn the ideal base for cycling and walking in the beautiful Burren National Park.
The rooms are all done in keeping with the period building with nice little touches throughout.
Kate and Aidan have a good eye for colour and detail, the colours they choose here really work well.
The food at Wild Honey is just fantastic. Breakfast here is simply the best, very good produce used, cooked to order and served in the breakfast room overlooking the courtyard garden. A great way to start the day.
But the food in the bar is some of the best served in Ireland. Each dish comes appropriately garnished and cooked to perfection. Chefs like Aidan are rare these days, you can always tell when a chef has been trained in the classical kitchen. He knows when a dish works. This topped with Kate and her team doing a superb job delivering the food and wine to the guests.
Places like this are hard to find nowadays, good old-fashioned Irish hospitality at its best.

Room Tip: It's best to phone and reserve a room with the owners, there are only 14 in total and are not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The best room and breakfast of our Ireland-journey. Unfortunately we were not able to dine at the restaurant because we enjoyed a wonderful sunset at the Cliffs of Moher, which is a 20 min drive away.
Our room was large, very nice furnished, quiet, with a little patio to sit in the afternoon.
The people were friendly.
It was very nice

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the ground floor have little patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We shared a delicious crab claw starter mopped up with excellent bread. Followed by pig's cheek with wild mushroom and spinach and neck of lamb with perfect green beans and roast potatoes. Only regret: no room for dessert. Very stylish pub,very stylish cooking.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carocj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Full of clutter! After finally locating an off site parking spot and negotiating 4 flights of stairs we found ourselves in a small room with nowhere to put anything as all the horizontal surfaces were covered with cushions, mannequins, knick-knacks and magazines. We could fit the luggage under the bed but accessing it later required logistics, patience and fortitude! The breakfast was disappointing as after the 5 star dinner last night in a separate bar/restaurant we had great expectations but noticed a different chef on board and it was downhill from there. Poor acoustics, food and service and reminiscences of Fawlty Towers started to pepper the conversation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank foghornleghorn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ate here a few weeks ago and could not wait to get back. All we can say is that if you are looking for quality food in a relaxed setting then I just don't think you can do better than this.
Kate and the chef Aidan are doing a wonderful job.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Recently stayed in this wonderful boutique style Hotel which in my opinion provides a Five Star service throughout.
The attention to detail within the bedrooms is a good as it gets. I hosted a large dinner party for my friends, the food was just wonderful which included perfectly cooked Dover Sole and Crab Claws were the best i have ever experienced, low-key professional service, extraordinary food and an exceptional Wine List.
I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.4 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
7.3 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Honey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Honey Inn

Property: Wild Honey Inn
Address: Wild Honey Inn Kincora Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Honey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wild Honey Inn you will find welcoming friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation and great food. This is a family run business in the heart of the Burren region in County Clare. A great place to stay when visiting the North Clare region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Honey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Honey Inn Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing