We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lisdoon letdown”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Wild Honey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wild Honey Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Lisdoonvarna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lisdoon letdown”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

unfortunately this is the worst place myself and my friends have ever stayed and i would advise anyone to steer well clear.. unless you are over the age of 70 and enjoy staying in a prison.. on arrival myself and 2 friends were greeted by a very grumpy owner, we had arrived for the lisdoonvarna festival and his lack of welcome completely dampened our moods. he had all doors locked up and at night when we arrived back, he left the key in the door so we couldnt get in without having to ring the doorbell for him to grumpily answer.:( this place has completely turned us off even visiting lisdoon again. awfully disappointed.the owner has no respect for his paying customers as he refers to his business as his home, and blatantly ignores the younger crowd as if we are a bunch of hooligans.(we are 3 women in our 30s)never again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank realperson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    28
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
28
125
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently ate at the Wild Honey Inn as I was aware the restaurant was getting great reviews. I liked that one did not have to book and waited with delight to have our food served. The food was disappointing- both my companion and myself had the burger. It did not taste good, and was served with a small amount of vegetables. It was the kind of meal that was lack lustre and would not entice me to return to eat there again. Service and the hospitality was really excellent though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollybawn190754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Found this gem by chance on our travels around Clare. Would highly recommend it - understated, well priced, friendly staff, and just sublime food. Roast belly of pork was melt on the mouth.

Have recommended it to many friends since.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gourmand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Travelling as part of a small group, we found this place unfriendly and mean - from the tiny, tatty shower in our room to the single half slice of toast we were allowed at breakfast. We had booked a table for dinner, but were told that 4 out of the 10 seats had been given to someone else. Two of us were then left standing at the bar with no drinks whilst the owner and staff ignored us, served other people who came in after us, and had a nice long chat with each other. After half an hour, we gave up and went to the Roadside Tavern, which was a really excellent place and demonstrated everything you'd expect from Irish hospitality.
Avoid at all costs, unless you want to have the true Fawlty Towers experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Wild Honey Inn was recommended by a friend from Dublin and we were not disappointed. I was a bit worried that staying in a "pub" might be noisy, but the location is quiet and off the main street. The only thing we heard was a rooster in the morning! Our dinner was a little disappointing as we had been expecting it to be exceptional. We would likely try Sheedy's next time, as that restaurant was also highly recommended. All the staff in the Wild Honey's cosy bar/restaurant were exceptional, and co-owner Kate was most friendly and accommodating, despite our late arrival. The breakfast was lovely, and Aidan makes an outstanding omelette!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Hill
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Four of us (2 couples) spent 2 nights here. Hot and cold items for breakfast were to our liking. We used the Wild Honey Inn as a base to explore the area both by foot and car and it worked great. A local pub (can't remember the name) had fantastic music by local musicians. At one point there were 14 playing and singing traditional music till midnight. Lynn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilrush, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped for a meal with our two boys,one had a pasta dish sprinkled with bits of bacon. We have had a very average starter followed by a very simple, very small, over-priced main.Our beverages were three glasses of house white wine and one black coffee,no desserts.(Five scallops the size of a euro with a spoon of mash for the main)Price was 94- euro in total.
I also asked twice for the bar stereo to be turned down as we had difficulty speaking to each other and it was turned back up again because the German or east-european waitress liked to have loud music while she worked.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BRIAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisdoonvarna
0.3 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
297 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.9 mi away
The Burren Castle Hotel
The Burren Castle Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
151 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Honey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Honey Inn

Property: Wild Honey Inn
Address: Wild Honey Inn Kincora Road, Lisdoonvarna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Lisdoonvarna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Lisdoonvarna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wild Honey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Wild Honey Inn you will find welcoming friendly staff. Comfortable accommodation and great food. This is a family run business in the heart of the Burren region in County Clare. A great place to stay when visiting the North Clare region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Wild Honey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wild Honey Inn Lisdoonvarna, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing