We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time”

Mountain View Horse Riding Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located just outside Doolin village on the outskirts of the Burren. Enjoy fantastic views of the magestic Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands, Connemara Mountains and Galway Bay on horseback. Gallop along the beach on Ireland's west coast. Caters for everyone from beginner to advanced rider offering treks from 1 to 6 hours long.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
miami
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good time”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Great time with family ridding beautiful horses. Peter the owner was very nice and took good care of us. Maria our guide was great too. Beautiful scenery!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cafeconleche29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely horses, once in a lifetime views, great guides, enjoyable ride.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've been on many trail rides around the world but none have compared to this. The views are spectacular. At one point you can see the Cliffs of Moher, the Aran Islands and Galway Bay with the mountains behind all in the same panorama. You also will ride past ruins that are hundreds of years old and see castles in the distance. Collectively, the horses have the best temperament of any I've ridden, whilst still having their own individual personalities and being great fun to ride. We did a two hour ride and I would recommend it, any shorter would have been too short! Caters well for all levels of experience and very welcoming and safe. Thanks to Peter, Kiera and Maria for a great afternoon. Well worth the spend. Make it part of your trip. Zoe

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedDogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best Part of the Trip!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Peter who owns the yard was our guide during our 2 hour private tour. He is a very charismatic guide full of knowledge that stems from a real connection with the land and growing up there. You will learn about the area and just have a real nice time listening to what your viewing... which is breathtaking view of Galway Bay, the Buren, and Cliffs of Moher!! The horses were amazing and very gentle and extremely responsive. I would highly recommend riding with Peter!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrSpaceFone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular riding experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the minute I arrived at the stable, the warmth and friendliness of host Peter was apparent. As an intermediate rider, Peter made an excellent choice of ride for me. Twinkle Toes, a gorgeous Connamara-Cob cross, was perfect. Over the course of four hours, I viewed spectacular scenery and Peter's knowledge of his area was interesting and informative. Peter's mother makes awesome lunches and you feel like you are a part of the family for the day. Thank's Peter for an amazing day, it was a real pleasure to meet you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 58Can_Trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
“Sean and Millie - our holiday highlight”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

During our recent trip to County Clare the top of my 11 year old daughter's wish list was horse riding. The two of us novice horse riders spent a glorious hour trekking along the majestic North Clare coastline with the Cliffs of Moher and Aran islands plain to be seen. We could not have made a better choice than going with 'Mountain View Horse Riding Centre' as Peter's utter passion and love for horses shone through as he guided us along our trek with tales of local history, pointing out the amazing views and all the time ensuring we were at ease on the backs of our amazingly well behaved Irish Cobs. Peter could not be more accommodating at very short notice. This is not a tourist attraction out to make money, this is simply a man who loves horses and his local environment and wants to share the pleasure of both. Unforgettable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MilliePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain View Horse Riding Centre also viewed

Doolin, The Burren
 
Moycullen, County Galway
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Mountain View Horse Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing